UI_poster


Project description

In May-June 2015 the School of Visual Arts in collaboration with the New Museum and the magazine Projector presented the exhibition Underground Images. The posters by the School of Visual Arts in the subway of New York from 1947 to nowadays. The exhibition occupied the place of honor in the program of the Fifth Saint-Petersburg Design Week. Over fifty posters out of a countless number made by SVA for New York subway were shown at the New Museum’s venue.

In the mid-1950s SVA became one of the first academic schools of the USA to realize that new strategies were needed to attract students, so they placed the posters in the subway of New York. These were the wokrs by such legendary designers of the time as Ivan Chermayeff, Milton Glaser and George Tcherny. They all taught at the School, and their works expressed what being an artist is like, demonstrated author’s visual statements, attracted attention and made the public wonder. Both the School and the posters were inseparable from the city and encouraged creative process.

All the 29 artists, whose works were displayed at the exhibition within the project Underground Images are currently teaching at the School or used to do it: Gale Anderson, Marshall Arisman, Gene Cates, Ivan Chermayeff, Paul Davis, Sal DeVito, Louise Fili, Audrey Flack, Nathan Fox, Bob Gill, Robert Giusti, Milton Glaser (the author of the famous logo “I Love NY‘), Phil Keays, Steven Heller, Mirko Ilic, Viktor Koen, Stephen Kroninger, Marvin Mattelson, Clay Patrick McBride, James McMullan, Jerry Moriarty, Tony Palladino, Stefan Sagmeister, David Sandlin, Paula Scher, Eve Sonneman, George Tcherny, James Victore and Robert Weaver.

Also, two public talks by Mirko Ilic were held, as well as a special issue of Projector was published in terms of the project.

Project curator and designer: Mitya Kharshak. Photography: Mikhail Grigoryev.

PR and SMM: SarafanPR

Project details

  • Заказчик

    SVA New-York

  • Что делали:

    • Event management
    • Posters
    • Print
    • Photo
    • Interviews
    • PR and SMM
Live Preview
projector_spread

UI_poster

Описание проекта

В мае-июне 2015 года Школа изобразительных искусств (School of Visual Arts) совместно с Новым Музеем и журналом «Проектор» представила выставку «Underground Images». Плакаты Школы изобразительных искусств в Нью-Йоркской подземке с 1947 до наших дней». Выставка заняла почетное место в программе Пятой Санкт-Петербургской недели дизайна. На площадке Нового музея было представлено более пятидесяти плакатов из бесчисленного множества, созданных в SVA для размещения в Нью-Йоркском метро.

В середине 1950-х годов SVA одной из первых академических школ США осознала необходимость применения новых стратегий для привлечения студентов. SVA разместила на платформах Нью-Йоркской подземки рекламные плакаты, которые привлекали внимание и заставляли зрителя задуматься. Это были работы легендарных дизайнеров своего времени, таких как Иван Чермаев, Милтон Глейзер и Джордж Черни. Все они преподавали в Школе, и в своих работах высказывались о том, что значит быть художником, демонстрировали авторское визуальное высказывание. Как и сама Школа, плакаты в Нью-Йоркской подземке стали неотделимы от города, побуждая к творческому поиску.

Все 29 художников, чьи работы представлены на выставке в проекте «Underground Images» — это бывшие и действующие преподаватели Школы: Гейл Андерсон, Маршал Арисман, Джин Кейс, Иван Чермаев, Пол Дэвис, Сол ДеВито, Луиза Фили, Одри Флак, Нэйтан Фокс, Боб Гилл, Роберт Джусти, Милтон Глейзер (автор знаменитого логотипа “I Love NY‘), Фил Хэйс, Стивен Хеллер, Мирко Илич, Виктор Коэн, Стивен Кренингер, Марвин Маттельсон, Клэй Патрик МакБрайд, Джеймс МакМаллан, Джерри Мориарти, Тони Палладино, Стефан Загмайстер, Дэвид Сэндлин, Пола Шер, Ив Зоннеман, Джордж Черни, Джеймс Виктор и Роберт Уивер.

В рамках проекта были также проведены две публичных лекции Мирко Илича и издан специальный номер журнала «Проектор».

Куратор проекта и дизайнер: Митя Харшак. Фотограф: Михаил Григорьев. Продвижение: SarafanPR

Детали проекта

  • Заказчик

    SVA New-York

  • Что делали:

    • Организация мероприятий
    • Плакат
    • Полиграфия
    • Фотосъемки
    • Интервью
    • Продвижение
projector_spread