Editor’s column

I sometimes feel as if being a mixture of the title character of Song about the rabbits and godfather Pumpkin from the fairy tale about Chipollino. The rabbit, though afraid of any adversity shaped as s wolf or an owl, is still working, whereas godfather Pumpkin says: «If I took a lot of bricks, about five pieces, that would make a nice house! But where do I take them?!» Running Projector feels approximately in between these two activities — mowing the grass and still thinking, where to get the bricks from. However, it seems to me that this borderline is quite a normal thing for our (not) much (it depends on the point of view!) neglected cases. The main thing is not to let the process of finding the bricks for the construction of our own mini-universe interfere enjoying the favourite business with all the passion of a young healthy organism.

Busy with this uncomplicated pastime between grass and bricks, we’ve started the third year of the fun life in Projector -its pilot issue was published at the end of August 2007. We’ll publush a couple of more issues, and it all will be a child’s play for us!



    Projector № 3(8) 2009

    Projector has published a partly anniversary issue. The magazine has turned two years, during which eight entertaining issues have come out. Mitya Kharshak expresses the hope for the future in the editor’s Song about the rabbits, which opens the issue.

    We couldn’t help using the opportunity to take pictures of live objects of Memphis group, which came to Saint-Petersburg in large numbers by the grace of Bulthaup Design Gallery. Being grateful to the Gallery, Projector gives a large-scale publication on Ettore Sottsass and his revolutionaries-associates. It’s especially nice that it’s the first time when among our authors Alexander Borovsky, the main expert in modern art in Saint-Petersburg and the head of the Department of Contemporary Art at the State Russian Museum, has been spotted. It was he who wrote the text about Memphis.

    projector_3(8)_1
    projector_3(8)_2

    Our another permanent and respected authority, Mikhail Karasik, this time has published not only his traditional article on book history of the 1920-30s, but also has been the protagonist of the column «Name». The text by Alexey Boyko about Mikhail and his works reveals the image of the main hero of Saint-Petersburg artist’s book, which was strengthened the affectionate nickname derived from the respectful colleagues: «Karasik Icebreaker».

    projector_3(8)_3

    The permanent author’s section of Olga and Alexander Florensky «Russian Design» this time features Cult buildings — The Tower of Babylon, the Synagogue, the Pagan sanctuary, the Temple of Zoroastrians the fire-worshipers, the Anthroposophic temple, the Reformed Church, the mosque with a minaret, the Orthodox Church, the Buddhist stupa, the Shinto Pagoda, the Ancient temple and the ziggurat.

    projector_3(8)_4

    The «Lettering» has been entirely given to Yuri Gordon, who talks about the process of creating the 21 cents type. Frankly, Yuri pretty puzzled the editorial. When Projector asked him to talk about how the type 21 cents is made, we could not assume that one of our favorite authors would provide the text, which claims to be an independent illustrated book. However, even ruthless reduction of the text couldn’t help to fit the story into one publication. The lively and dense narrative did not allow a deep cut. As a result, we decided to break the story into several parts and establish a temporary mini-column devoted to the process of creating the 21 cents. This issue has the beginning, and next one — the sequel. The further, the more!

    projector_3(8)_5

    The «Subject» this time has unusually for itself extended — five articles on various features of object design at a time, from artistic Cat and Crocodile, by Saint-Petersburg designer Boremir Bakharev (aka Bob), to the flashback of a fold yardstick.

    projector_3(8)_6
    projector_3(8)_10

    This section also has the continuation of the anti-crisis column «Tips and Tricks». This issue’s tips for our lady-readers say how to adorn their dresses in a «do-it-yourself» way. We remind you that the tips are given unchanged and come from the apologetic edition of 1957.

    projector_3(8)_9

    Vitra Company presents an object from its extensive collection. This time it’s ornate Wiggle Side Chair Frank Gehry.

    projector_3(8)_7

    And the good fellowship with the exhibitions of the Loft Project ETAZHI has resulted in the publication entitled Marble about the ironic and subtle works by the Italian sculptor Fabio Viale. This is the same Fabio Viale, as who launches marble balloons into the sky and sails along the rivers in a marble boat — all to be honest!

    projector_3(8)_8

    This issue pays particular attention to the Project №5 «Environment». The text by Oleg Veklenko and photos by Maria Bykova can hardly leave anyone indifferent. They are dedicated to the terrible disaster at the Chernobyl nuclear power station. By the way, the magazine Projector is sending a delegation to Pripyat in October. Designers, we still have vacancies in the group for those who want to see the Dead Zone firsthand.

    projector_3(8)_18
    projector_3(8)_19

    Our old friend Dmitry Goryachev, whose photos have often appeared in the magazine, has became the protagonist of the Project «Photography». His rare panoramic cameras allow to achieve amazingly moving results.

    projector_3(8)_11
    projector_3(8)_12

    The project «School», dedicated to education in design, opens with the article by the member of our editorial board, Sergey Serov. His publication is about Absolute HASGD project — a bright creative experiment in which students paid tribute to the most iconic characters of the Russian and the world graphic design.

    projector_3(8)_13

    The project «School» continues with Sergey Helmyanov and Svetlana Mirzoyan’s publication about the person who «Mukha» owes its reconstruction in the difficult post-war years. His name is Iosif Waks.

    projector_3(8)_14

    Our book project can not do without the mandatory publication by Mikhail Karasik. In this issue, he talks about the phenomenon of Lenin’s light bulbs in the Soviet book design of the 1920-30s, and Andrey Kharshak describes in detail another fundamental work of Vladimir Krichevsky about the Leningrad designer Dmitry Bulanov. Krichevsky has made another discovery and returned from oblivion the definitely bright and noticeable name of this book designer.

    projector_3(8)_15

    Finally, Projector publishes our own recommendations on design literature. Read more on the last pages of the Project №9 «Books».

    projector_3(8)_16
    projector_3(8)_17

    Projector № 3(8) 2009

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Я порой ощущаю себя какой-то помесью заглавного героя «Песни про зайцев» и кума Тыквы из сказки про Чиполлино. Заяц, хоть и боится всяких напастей в виде волка и совы, но страхи эти делу не в ущерб. А кум Тыква говорит: «Взять бы много кирпичей, штук примерно пять, вот бы вышел славный дом! Только где ж их взять?!» Делание «Проектора» находится примерно посередине этих двух занятий — косим трын-траву и при этом думаем: где бы нарыть кирпичей? Впрочем, сдается мне, что такое пограничное состояние и есть самое нормальное в нашем (не)сильно (это с какой стороны посмотреть) запущенном случае. Главное, чтобы процесс поиска кирпичей для строительства собственной мини-вселенной не мешал отдаваться любимому занятию со всей страстью молодого здорового организма.

В нехитром этом времяпрепровождении между трын-травой и кирпичиками мы перевалили в третий год веселой жизни «Проектора» — пилотный номер вышел в конце августа 2007 года. Еще пару-тройку номеров сделаем, и все напасти нам будут трын-трава!

    Проектор № 3(8) 2009

    Вышел в свет частично юбилейный номер «Проектора». Журналу исполнилось два года, в течение которых исправно вышло восемь занимательных номеров. Надежды на будущее Митя Харшак выражает в своей редакторской «Песне про зайцев», открывающей свежий номер.

    Никак нельзя было не использовать возможность поснимать живьем объекты группы Мемфис, приехавшие в Питер в большом количестве по милости Галереи дизайна Бултхауп. С благодарностью Галерее «Проектор» представляет масштабную публикацию об Этторе Соттсассе и его революционерах-единомышленниках. Особенно приятно то, что среди наших авторов впервые засветился Александр Боровский — главный петербургский знаток современного искусства и руководитель отдела Новейших течений Государственного Русского музея. Именно его авторству принадлежит текст о Мемфисе.

    projector_3(8)_1
    projector_3(8)_2

    Зато другой наш постоянный и уважаемый авторитет — Михаил Карасик в этот раз отметился не только своей традиционной статьей по истории книги двадцатых-тридцатых годов ХХ века, но и выступил в роли главного героя рубрики «Имя». Текст Алексея Бойко о Михаиле и го работах раскрывает образ главного героя Петербургской Книги художника, за которым укрепилось ласковое прозвище, полученное от уважающих коллег: «Ледокол Карасик».

    projector_3(8)_3

    На неизменном месте авторский раздел Ольги и Александра Флоренских «Русский дизайн». В этот раз в поле зрения авторов «Культовые сооружения» — Вавилонская башня, Синагога, Языческое святилище, Храм Зороастрийцев-огнепоклонников, Антропософский храм, Реформатская церковь, Мечеть с минаретом, Православная церковь, Буддистская ступа, Костел, Синтоистская пагода, Античный храм и Зиккурат.

    projector_3(8)_4

    Проект «Буквы» целиком отдан Юрию Гордону, который рассказывает о процессе создания шрифта «21 цент». Признаться честно, Юрий изрядно озадачил редакцию. Когда «Проектор» попросил его рассказать о том, как делался шрифт «21 цент», мы никак не могли предположить, что получим от одного из любимых наших авторов текст, вполне претендующий на отдельную изрядно иллюстрированную книжку. При этом даже безжалостное сокращение текста не приближало возможности уложить рассказ в одну публикацию. А живое и плотное повествование не позволяло глубоко резать. В итоге решили разбить рассказ на несколько частей и обосноваться в «Проекторе» с временной мини-рубрикой, посвященной процессу создания шрифта «21 цент». В этом номере начало. В следующем продолжение. Дальше — больше!

    projector_3(8)_5

    Необычно разросся на сей раз Проект «Предмет» — сразу пять статей о самых разных проявлениях предметного дизайна. От артистических Кота и Крокодила, авторства петербургского дизайнера Боремира Бахарева (aka Боб) до ретроспекции о складном Аршине.

    projector_3(8)_6
    projector_3(8)_10

    Также в этом разделе продолжение антикризисной рубрики «Полезные советы». В этом номере советы для наших читательниц о том как же все-таки своими руками сделать свое платье нарядным. Напоминаем, что советы даются без изменений по текстам апологетического издания 1957 года.

    projector_3(8)_9

    Компания Витра представляет предмет из своей обширной коллекции. На сей раз, это витиеватый Wiggle Side Chair Фрэнка Гери.

    projector_3(8)_7

    А доброе соседство с выставками Лофт Проекта «Этажи» вылилось в публикацию «Мрамор» о ироничных и тонких работах итальянского скульптора Фабио Виале. Это тот самый Фабио Виале, который запускает в небо мраморные воздушные шарики и плавает по рекам в мраморной моторной лодке — все по-честному!

    projector_3(8)_8

    Особое внимание Проекту № 5 «Среда». Текст Олега Векленко и фотографии Марии Быковой едва ли могут оставить кого-то равнодушным. Они посвящены страшной катастрофе на Чернобыльской АЭС. Кстати, журнал «Проектор» в октябре отправляет в Припять свою делегацию. Дизайнеры, еще есть свободные места для желающих воочию увидеть Мертвую Зону.

    projector_3(8)_18
    projector_3(8)_19

    Наш давний друг Дмитрий Горячев, чьи фотографии уже не раз появлялись в журнале, в этом номере сам стал главным героем Проекта «Фотографирование». Его панорамные раритетные фотоаппараты позволяют добиваться совершенно удивительных по силе результатов.

    projector_3(8)_11
    projector_3(8)_12

    Проект «Школа», посвященный дизайн-образованию открывается публикацией члена нашего редакционного совета Сергея Ивановича Серова, в которой он рассказывает о проекте «Абсолют ВАШГД» — ярком творческом эксперименте, в ходе которого студенты отдали дань уважения большинству знаковых персонажей российского и мирового графического дизайна.

    projector_3(8)_13

    Проект «Школа» продолжается публикацией Сергея Хельмянова и Светланы Мирзоян о человеке, которому «Муха» обязана своим воссозданием в тяжелые послевоенные годы. Его имя Иосиф Александрович Вакс.

    projector_3(8)_14

    И наш книжный Проект никак не может обойтись без обязательной публикации Михаила Карасика. В этом номере он рассказывает о феномене «Лампочки Ильича» в советском книжном дизайне двадцатых-тридцатых годов ХХ века. А Андрей Харшак подробно описывает очередной фундаментальный труд Владимира Кричевского о ленинградском дизайнере Дмитрии Буланове. Кричевский совершил очередное открытие, вернув нам из забвения и безвестности имя безусловно очень яркого и заметного дизайнера книги.

    projector_3(8)_15

    А напоследок «Проектор» публикует и собственные рекомендации по дизайнерской литературе. Подробнее на последних страницах Проекта № 9 «Книги».

    projector_3(8)_16
    projector_3(8)_17

    Проектор № 3(8) 2009

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.