Editor’s column

This issue of Projector speaks with a distinct Finnish accent. With the rare exception of those publications which stem from the local editorial portfolio, the number of projects are dedicated to our good northern neighbors. It is surprising that in recent years such a powerful phenomenon as Finnish design has not received the deserved coverage in our area. Of course, we all know Alvar Aalto, whose name has already for half a century represented Finland in the world, and at times it’s a much broader information field than architecture and design. The name of Aalto often represents the entire Finnish culture of the second half of the twentieth century, and don’t be surprised that this issue has no publication about the life and work of the «father of the Northern modernism», as the Maitre is often called. Firstly, who knew that this year the stars would be aligned so that we’d publish an issue with such emphasis on Finnish design — the editorial plan is pretty chaotic and can suddenly go towards a completely unexpected direction. Estimating Aalto in the global context, Projector paid tribute to his work a year ago in the issue 2 (3), 2008. It is clear that Aalto’s works can occupy several magazines from cover to cover each, but we wanted to avoid repetitions. And to be honest, the editors hope that our readers are familiar with the legacy of Aalto well enough, while the names of other heroes of Finnish design, unfortunately, sound strange in our area. That’s who we’re going to speak about.

From the first page to the last one I’m extremely grateful to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Finland and the Finnish General Consulate in Saint-Petersburg for assistance in preparing the issue. They were very kind and introduced us to Finnish designers in the field environment of Helsinki. In the fullness of my heart I decided to assemble the most part of the issue of the works by our colleagues from Finland. I would also like to thank personally Ms Jutta Hinkkanen of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Finland, who made our trip abundant and interesting! I also thank the Media Relations conuncil Mr. Matti Nieminen and Culture assistant Ms Katja Nieminen, who helped us with the organizational issues.

The Finnish designers told us: «Finland is a small country. We are only 5 million. The society almost doesn’t have vertical hierarchy. The Finnish model is very horizontal. This can be proven, for example, with he possibility to call the Minister on a mobile, if required. We all know each other …» And this collective communication field is well felt in contact with all kinds of people there. It is hardly possible in our vertical latitudes. But it would be nice at least for fellow designers from the same city to know each other and be in a collective information field, rather than sit in their dens with no will to go outside.



    Projector № 2(7) 2009

    The latest Projector has a distinct Finnish accent. Even the cover reads: Varo kuuma, which means «Be careful, it's hot!» The hot summer Finnish issue has dedicated more than half of its publications to the project of the designers from Finland - our good neighbors.

    That would be a predictable step to start with Alvar Aalto, the forefather of all Finnish design. But, first, we wrote about him a year ago in the issue 2 (3) in 2008, and secondly, his works are well-known in our latitudes. That’s why we suddenly with Eero Aarnio and more predictably continue with Harri Koskinen — both masters of Finnish design have been interviewed by Projector.

    projector_2(7)_1
    projector_2(7)_2

    The author’s project of Olga and Alexander Florensky isn’t subject to any geographical or thematic trends in the editorial policy and is, as usual, still here. This time we will focus on the Mobile bestiary.

    projector_2(7)_19

    The «Lettering» opens with the article on Graphic Archaeology — the project of Mitya Kharshak, implemented with the help of students of Saint-Petersburg University of Polygraphy.

    projector_2(7)_5

    The relationship between Projector and letters through the story about an amazing Kunststück — ciphermachine based on Rubik’s Cube.

    projector_2(7)_6

    Project №4 «Subject» is surprisingly abundant this issue. The editorial board have spotted four objects, simply impossible not to be discussed. Among them is the chair Organic by Eero Saarinen, created in collaboration with Charles Eames; a freaky engagement wire, designed by Ilkka Suppanen; a recession-resistant project of a thermos that can be constructed with your own hands, and the futuristic Medusa by Mikko Paakkanen.

    projector_2(7)_7
    projector_2(7)_8
    projector_2(7)_9
    projector_2(7)_10

    The №5, «Environment», shows two projects: Kirnu, «a giant pot», which will represent Finland at the World Expo in Shanghai; and the apartment — a witty artistic project by the trio of young ladies-designers from Saint-Petersburg.

    projector_2(7)_11
    projector_2(7)_13

    Next, in the project «Interactive» there’s our critically-minded expert in site building Michael Shulenin examines the site of Helsinki University of Art and Design. I must say that despite the biased analysis, the site as a whole has managed to pass the test given by our strict member of the editorial board.

    projector_2(7)_20

    The photography project this time also features a Finnish master — Ole Kolemaynen. Unfortunately, the editors weren’t efficient at twisting Mr. Kolemaynenu’s hands and his press service, and we did get a portrait of the main working tool of the photographer — his camera. That’s a drag, but we’ve been able to publish two photos more!

    projector_2(7)_15
    projector_2(7)_16

    In the project №8 «School» Sergei Helmyanov talks about his experience of cooperation with Nokia during the training project with the students of «Mukha». This is also a Finnish subject in some way, I guess.

    projector_2(7)_21

    Mikhail Karasik continues to delight us with his stories about the studies of books of the 1920-30s. Read his article Jump in this issue.

    projector_2(7)_17

    Next, our permanent columnist Dmitry Nikiforov looks through «The most beautiful book in Finland, 2008» (this is an award), entitled Sketchbook, with great pleasure.

    projector_2(7)_18

    Projector № 2(7) 2009

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Этот номер «Проектора» говорит с заметным финским акцентом. За редким исключением публикаций, выросших из местного редакционного портфеля, номер посвящен проектам наших добрых северных соседей. Удивительно, что в последнее время такое мощное явление, как финский дизайн, не получало заслуженного освещения в наших краях. Естественно, мы все знаем Алвара Аалто, имя которого уже полвека как служит представительству Финляндии во всем мире. Притом порой представительству в гораздо более широком информационном поле, чем архитектура и дизайн. Имя Аалто порой представляет всю финскую культуру второй половины ХХ века. И не удивляйтесь, что в этом номере нет публикации о жизни и творчестве «отца северного модернизма», как зачастую величают Мэтра. Во-первых, кто ж знал, что в этом году так встанут звезды и мы будем делать номер с такими акцентами на финский дизайн — редакционное планирование пока довольно хаотично и может вдруг повернуться в совершенно неожиданную сторону. Оценивая Аалто в мировом контексте, «Проектор» отдал должное его проектам ровно год назад в номере 2 (3) 2008. Понятное дело, что его работам можно уделить не один журнал от корки до корки, но повторяться не хотелось. Да и что греха таить, редакция надеется, что творчество Аалто в достаточной степени известно нашим читателям. А вот имена других героев финского дизайна, к сожалению, не так известны в наших краях. О них и речь.

За помощь в подготовке номера я от первой до последней страницы благодарен Министер-ству иностранных дел Финляндии и Генеральному консульству Финляндии в Санкт-Петербурге. Они были чрезвычайно любезны и организовали знакомство с финскими дизайнерами прямо в полевых условиях города Хельсинки. От пере-избытка чувств я и решил сделать номер, основную часть которого посвятить работам наших коллег из Финляндии. Также хочу выразить благодарность лично госпоже Ютте Хинкканен из Министерства иностранных дел Финляндии, которая сделала нашу поездку максимально насыщенной и интересной! Благодарю консула по связям со СМИ господина Матти Ниеминена и ассистента по культуре госпожу Катю Ниеминен, которые помогли с организационными вопросами.

Финские дизайнеры рассказывали: «Финляндия — маленькая страна. Нас всего 5 миллионов. В обществе почти нет вертикальной иерархии. Финская модель очень горизонтальна. Доказательством тому служит, например, возможность позвонить министру на мобильный, если это необходимо. Мы все друг друга знаем…» И это общее коммуникационное поле очень хорошо ощущается в контактах с самыми разными людьми. Едва ли такая горизонтальность возможна в наших вертикальных широтах. Но было бы неплохо хотя бы коллегам-дизайнерам, хотя бы в пределах одного города знать друг друга и находиться в общем информационном поле, а не сидеть каждому безвылазно в своей берлоге.

    Проектор № 2(7) 2009

    Свежий номер проектора говорит с заметным финским акцентом. Даже на обложке написано: «Varo kuuma», что означает «Осторожно, горячо!» Горячий летний финский номер более половины публикаций посвятил проектам дизайнеров из Финлнядии — нашим добрым соседям.

    Предсказуемым шагом было бы начать с отца всего финского дизайна Алвара Аалто. Но, во-первых, мы уже писали о нем ровно год назад в номере 2(3) 2008, а во-вторых, его творчество и так хорошо известно в наших широтах. Поэтому неожиданно начинаем с Ееро Аарнио и более предсказуемо продолжаем Харри Коскиненом — оба мэтра финского дизайна ответили на вопросы «Проектора».

    projector_2(7)_1
    projector_2(7)_2

    Авторский проект Ольги и Александра Флоренских не подвержен никаким географическим или тематическим веяниям в редакционной политике и остается, как обычно на своем месте. На сей раз речь пойдет о «Передвижном бестиарии».

    projector_2(7)_19

    Проект «Буквы» открывается публикацией о Графической археологии — проекте Мити Харшака, реализованном с помощью студентов кафедры Графики питерского Полиграфа.

    projector_2(7)_5

    Взаимоотношения «Проектора» с буквами продолжаются рассказом об удивительном кунштюке — шрифтогенераторе, построенном на базе Кубика Рубика.

    projector_2(7)_6

    Неожиданно широко развернулся в этот раз проект № 4 «Предмет». В поле зрения редакции попало сразу четыре объекта, не рассказать о которых было просто невозможно. Среди них кресло “Organic” Ээро Сааринена, созданное в соавторстве с Чарльзом Имзом, чумовая обручальная проволока, реализованная Илккой Суппаненом, антикризисный проект термоса, который можно соорудить своими руками и футуристическая Медуза —Микко Паакканена.

    projector_2(7)_7
    projector_2(7)_8
    projector_2(7)_9
    projector_2(7)_10

    В проекте № 5 «Среда» показаны два проекта: Kirnu, — «Гигантский котел», который будет представлять Финляндию на Всемирной выставке в Шанхае; и «Плоская квартира» — остроумный артистический проект троицы молодых петербургских барышень-дизайнеров.

    projector_2(7)_11
    projector_2(7)_13

    Далее в проекте «Интерактив» наш критично-настроенный эксперт по сайтостроению Михель Шуленин разбирается в сайте Хельсинского университета искусства и дизайна. Надо сказать, что несмотря на пристрастный разбор, сайту в целом удалось сдать зачет нашему строгому члену редсовета.

    projector_2(7)_20

    И в фотографическом проекте в этот раз финский мастер — Оле Колемайнен. К сожалению, у редакции не получилось эффективно выкрутить руки господину Колемайнену и его пресс-службе и нам не досталось портрета основного рабочего инструмента фотографа — его камеры. Жаль, но зато мы смогли опубликовать на две фотографии больше!

    projector_2(7)_15
    projector_2(7)_16

    В проекте № 8 «Школа» Сергей Хельмянов рассказывает о своем опыте сотрудничества с компанией Нокиа в реализации учебного проекта с мухинскими студентами. Тоже, вроде, финская тема.

    projector_2(7)_21

    Михаил Карасик продолжает радовать нас своими исследованиями истории книги двадцатых-тридцатых годов ХХ века. В этом номере его публикация «Прыжок».

    projector_2(7)_17

    Далее наш постоянный обозреватель Дмитрий Никифоров с удовольствием листает «Самую красивую книгу Финляндии 2008 года» (это официальная награда данного издания) под названием Sketchbook.

    projector_2(7)_18

    Проектор № 2(7) 2009

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.