Editor’s column

Writing editor’s column on the crisis in all its forms is somehow awkward. This topic provides fair consideration without my humble participation. However, it would be too artificial to ignore the situation that appeals to us all, without any exception. But I would like to approach it from a little unexpected side. Lately, just with the arrival of all this financial and economic turmoil, art and design life has surprisingly revived. Good exhibitions open one after another, some interesting stir is happening in Saint-Petersburg galleries, the neighbor Finns, who are also being active in this field, are preparing a great design landing in our place. Just to mention, however, that is what we see out of our anthill. This view is entirely subjective, partly because we ​have the direct relevance to the organization of a certain part of designers’ life.

Most likely, this activation of the creative life can be explained by the fact that the decline in object design and the forced stop of conveyors at many design studios have released a certain amount of time and energy of people who are not used to sittind idle in any situation. They somehow always invent newactivities they like, whether it’s work on another customer’s brief or even some non-profit venture. In addition, the cause may be internal needs to response to external adverse circumstances — say, we transcend any adversity! If it doesn’t kill you it’ll just make you stronger, being f…ed, growing even stronger; and other hackneyed quotations of folk wisdom. Possible, there really is something true about the fact that the way to pure art and a variety of creative ideas opens during financial difficulties? In this regard, I can’t help recalling the unprecedented revival of artistic life in Petrograd in late 1910s — early 1920s. I think there’s no need to remind what a difficult period of history the rise came in.

I personally know of many bright and talented designers who are now returning to once unfinished dissertations, who arrange exhibitions, get engaged in teaching, raise some interesting non-commercial projects — in short, they’re doing all the things that previously did not have enough time for in the daily stress of their work schedule. The main thing, in my opinion, is to enjoy what you are doing, to be happy about your job every day and to share this joy with all those around you. To focus not only on the final result, but also the creative process itself. And then any crisis won’t seem that terrible — spit a lot of saliva upon it!



    Projector № 1(6) 2009

    There has been published a new Projector, the first in 2009 and the sixth altogether. The editorial keeps subjectively covering interesting design issues that we spotted from the top of our editirial anthill. It would be artificial to ignore the global crisis, but also unduly to pin-point it. Projector has responded to the crisis in their own way, particularly - with the Project № 4 «Subject» got an anti-crisis column «Tips and Tricks».

    Projector shares the achievements and significant events that have occurred in the editorial’s life over the past three months. Among these achievements, a very special one is the collaboration of the magazine and Loft Project ETAZHI, marked with the launch of a new weekly program I can SEE! Graphic Design stars visiting the Loft Project ETAZHI. The curator of the program is the senior editor of Projector. All guests of the program I can SEE! are the real stars of the profession. Their works have won dozens of prestigious international awards, they are kept in major museum collections in the world, monograph on their art come out in Russia and abroad. Simultaneously, they are all they active participants in of today’s design life. Getting all of them together as participants of an event used to be organized only by the most serious Russian and international exhibitions. Complex programs of such level didn’t exist in Saint-Petersburg, so many participants of the program will show their works in our city for the first time. In the spring season of I can SEE! will participate (in the impassive chronological order): Anastasia Beltyukova (Saint-Petersburg), the Group Pprofessors: Andrey Lublin and Maria Zaborovskaya (Saint-Petersburg), Alexander Faldin (Saint-Petersburg), Yuri Gulitov (Moscow), Vladimir Chaika (Moscow ), Konstantin Startsev (Saint-Petersburg), Ilya Ruderman (Moscow), Mikhail Karasik (Saint-Petersburg), Alexander Linetsky (Saint-Petersburg), Erken Kagarov (Moscow), Andrey Logvin (Moscow), Emil Yakupov (Moscow), Ilya Pavlov and Maria Norazyan (Kharkov). In addition to demonstrating the works, the value of the program I can SEE! is the presence of the authors. The audience will have the opportunity to ask the guests questions and have a live chat, which, as a rule, is impossible even when visiting the most representative exhibition.

    projector_1(6)_6

    The first theme project «Personification» opens with the article Zang Tumb Tumb by Mikhail Karasik. Connoisseurs of the history of design will immediately recognize that this is one of the forefathers of Futurism, Filippo Tommaso Marinetti, and the article name is taken from the cover of one of his famous books. The publication is just in time — this year we are celebrating the centenary of Futurism!

    projector_1(6)_8
    projector_1(6)_9

    «Personification» project continues with a big (five-spread!) material devoted to Lukova. Luba is a US graphic designer, whose works are known worldwide. When three spreads were to be publidhed, the editors could not fit the material in them — the works are so good! In addition, we didn’t want to cut the text written by Anna Kozhara, our author, on the materials of the talk with Ljuba so much, that we had to sacrifice other publications and place them for a time into the editorial portfolio and give this unique material 10 pages.

    projector_1(6)_12
    projector_1(6)_13

    The traditional author’s column of Olga and Alexander Florensky «Russian Design» this time is filled about the project Humble architecture. With the humor and design-linguistic finesse, characteristic to the Florenskys, the authors publish projects of various structures from the Tower for having fireworks to Masts for maintaining the flag unfolded.

    projector_1(6)_18

    The articles of the project №3 «Lettering» as if reecho each other. Their authors come to a kind of a dialogue on the pages of the magazine. Jerry Kelly, in continuation of his article about the type reconstructions (the beginning of the article was published in the previous issue) writes: «Inevitably, along with original modern fonts there will always be the reconstructions of the earlier classic fonts, a complementing the modern font palette».

    projector_1(6)_23
    projector_1(6)_24

    And Ilya Ruderman, abundantly commenting his own works on the pages of the magazine, remarks: «As long as the visual language of communication uses symbols, they will require uniqueness. Even if the number of types will be equal to the number of people on the planet — you can also imagine, each of us to have our own font that is unique to us and no one else — even in this case, font changes will be required — because the font will have to chane while its owner is getting mature».

    projector_1(6)_26
    projector_1(6)_27

    Project № 4 «Subject» opens with an article by Anna Balagurova 16 Animali. It is dedicated to the project of the Italian designer Enzo Mari. The set of 16 animal figures is a wooden jigsaw, the design icon of the twentieth century, that has not only turned into an art object out of a toy, but also has become the embodiment of the long-term analytical research of Marie as a designer-theoretician. The object can be seen live at the 100 objects of Italian Design exhibition, within three months on display in the Loft Project ETAZHI.

    projector_1(6)_30

    Further on, among the items already mentioned, there’s the new «anti-crisis» article and the column «Subject», that has already become permanent, showing the most significant achievements of design from the collection Vitra. In this issue, read the story by Nina Filyuta about the creation by the Bouroullec brothers — Vegetal chair.

    projector_1(6)_33

    The two publications for the Project №5 «Environment» have been prepared by the senior editor Mitya Kharshak on his own impressions from visiting Masters’ House in Dessau. The houses by Walter Gropius, Lionel Feininger and Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, George Mucha and Oskar Schlemmer, Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky are now included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. Read more about their history and the present day in the articles Master’s House and The Black Room.

    projector_1(6)_35
    projector_1(6)_36
    projector_1(6)_38

    In the project №6 «Interactive» the member of the editorial board Michael Shulenin examines in detail the online experiment called Dontclick.it, and the columnist of Projector Dmitry Nikiforov carefully looks through the online portfolio of the studio Bionic Systems.

    projector_1(6)_40
    projector_1(6)_42

    Project № 7 «Photography» is dedicated to the wonderful Saint-Petersburg photographer Andrey Chezhin. Andrew himself has written the text about him and his reliable camera Horizon, which helps him take magical and incomprehensible images.

    projector_1(6)_45
    projector_1(6)_46

    In terms of the project №8 «School» Sergy Helmyanov talks about his experience of supervising diploma projects — how the work was going on and what difficulties he faced in the graduation project by Nadezhda Stefanovic, defenced last year at the Department of Design at «Mukha».

    projector_1(6)_49

    And finally the project №9 «Books». The authority and expert on book history Mikhail Karasik tells the story of ridiculous pages of the national book history of the 1930s in the publication Wearing a gas-mask.

    projector_1(6)_52
    projector_1(6)_53

    Projector № 1(6) 2009

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com.

Слово редактора

Писать редакторскую колонку о кризисе во всех его проявлениях как-то неловко. Этой теме и без моего скромного участия уделяется изрядное внимание. Но и вовсе обойти молчанием ситуацию, которая касается всех без исключения, тоже было бы искусственно. Но зайти я бы хотел с несколько неожиданной стороны. Последнее время, как раз с приходом всей этой финансовой и экономической неразберихи, на удивление активизировалась художественно-дизайнерская жизнь. Открываются одна за другой хорошие выставки, какая-то интересная движуха творится в питерских галереях, соседи-финны тоже активничают по этой части и готовят в наши края большой дизайнерский десант. Замечу, однако, что таковой ситуация выглядит из нашего муравейника. Взгляд этот исключительно субъективный, отчасти и потому, что к организации определенной части дизайнерской жизни мы и сами имеем непосредственное отношение.

Скорее всего, такую активизацию творче-ской жизни можно объяснить тем, что спад дизайнерского производства и вынужденная остановка конвейеров многих дизайн-студий высвободили некоторое количество энергии и времени у людей, которые в любой ситуации не привыкли сидеть без дела. Они-то вечно придумывают себе новые занятия по душе, будь то работа по очередному брифу заказчика или вовсе какие-то некоммерческие затеи. Кроме того, причиной может быть и внутренняя по-требность ответа на внешние неблагоприятные обстоятельства — мол, нам любые невзгоды нипочем! If it won’t kill you it’ll just make you stronger, нас …, а мы крепчаем; и прочие избитые цитаты и народные мудрости. Может быть, и есть доля правды в том, что время материальных затруднений открывает дорогу чистому искусству и самым разным творческим идеям? В связи с этим нельзя не вспомнить небывалое оживление художественной жизни Петрограда в конце десятых — начале двадцатых годов ХХ века. На какой непростой период истории пришелся этот подъем, напоминать не надо.

Я лично знаю немало ярких и талантливых дизайнеров, которые сейчас возвращаются к недописанным когда-то диссертациям, устраивают выставки, занимаются преподаванием, поднимают какие-то любопытные некоммерческие проекты — одним словом, делают все то, на что раньше совсем не хватало времени в ежедневном напряженном рабочем графике. Главное, на мой взгляд, заключается в том, чтобы получать удовольствие от того, чем занимаешься. Радоваться изо дня в день своему делу и делиться этой радостью со всеми, кто тебя окружает. Ориентироваться не только на окончательный результат, но и на сам созидательный процесс. И тогда никакой кризис не страшен — наплевать на него слюнями!

    Проектор № 1(6) 2009

    Вышел в свет первый в 2009 году, шестой от роду номер журнала «Проектор». Редакция продолжает субъективно освещать вопросы дизайна, которые кажутся интересными с вершины ее редакционного муравейника. Было бы искусственным обойти вниманием общую кризисную ситуацию, но и излишне заострять на ней свое внимание тоже было бы лишним. Проектор отреагировал на кризис по-своему, а именно, в Проекте № 4 «Предмет» появилась антикризисная рубрика «Полезные советы».

    «Проектор» делится достижениями и знаменательными событиями, произошедшими в редакционной жизни за прошедшие три месяца. Среди этих достижений особое место занимает сотрудничество журнала и Лофт Проекта ЭТАЖИ, ознаменованное запуском новой еженедельной программы «ВИЖУ! Звезды графического дизайна в гостях у Лофт Проекта ЭТАЖИ». Куратором программы стал главный редактор «Проектора». Все гости программы «ВИЖУ!» — это настоящие звезды профессии. Их работы завоевали десятки престижнейших международных наград, их работы хранятся в ведущих музейных коллекциях мира, об их творчестве выходят монографии в России и за рубежом. И при этом все они активные действующие герои сегодняшней дизайнерской сцены. Собрать такой состав участников в рамках одного мероприятия до этого было под силу лишь самым серьезным российским и международным выставкам. Комплексных программ такого уровня в Санкт-Петербурге до сих пор еще не было. Многие участники программы впервые покажут свои работы в нашем городе. В весеннем сезоне «ВИЖУ!» примут участие (в бесстрастном хронологическом порядке): Анастасия Бельтюкова (СПб), Группа Pprofessors: Андрей Люблинский и Мария Заборовская (СПб), Александр Фалдин (СПб), Юрий Гулитов (Москва), Владимир Чайка (Москва), Константин Старцев (СПб), Илья Рудерман (Москва), Михаил Карасик (СПб), Александр Линецкий (СПб), Эркен Кагаров (Москва), Андрей Логвин (Москва), Эмиль Якупов (Москва), Илья Павлов и Мария Норазян (Харьков). Помимо демонстрации работ особая ценность показов программы «ВИЖУ!» заключается в присутствии самих авторов. У зрителей будет возможность задать вопросы гостям программы и вживую пообщаться, что, как правило, невозможно при посещении даже самой представительной выставки.

    projector_1(6)_6

    Первый тематический Проект «Персонификация» открывается статьей Михаила Карасика под названием Zang Tumb Tumb. Знатоки истории дизайна сразу поймут, что речь идет об одном из отцов-основателей футуризма Филиппо Томмазо Маринетти, а название взято с обложки одной из его знаменитых книг. Публикация ко времени – ведь в этом году мы все отмечаем столетие Футуризма!

    projector_1(6)_8
    projector_1(6)_9

    Продолжается Проект «Персонификация» большим – на целых пять разворотов (!) материалом, посвященным Любе Луковой. Люба – американский дизайнер-график, чьи работы известны по всему миру. При запланированных на публикацию трех разворотах, редакция никак не смогла вписаться в отведенное пространство – уж больно хороши работы! К тому же текст, написанный нашим автором – Анной Кожарой на материалах непосредственного общения с Любой Луковой было очень жаль сокращать. Поэтому пришлось пожертвовать другими публикациями, отправленными на время в редакционный портфель, но выделить 10 полос на этот уникальный материал.

    projector_1(6)_12
    projector_1(6)_13

    Традиционный авторский раздел Ольги и Александра Флоренских «Русский дизайн» в этот раз наполнен проектом «Смиренная архитектура». С присущим Флоренским юмором и дизайнерско-лингвистическим изяществом авторы публикуют проекты различных сооружений от «Башни для устройства фейерверков» до «Мачты для поддержания флага в развернутом состоянии».

    projector_1(6)_18

    Публикации Проекта № 3 «Буквы», словно перекликаются между собой. Авторы вступают в своеобразный диалог на страницах журнала. Джерри Келли в продолжении своей статьи о шрифтовых реконструкциях (начало статьи было опубликовано в предыдущем номере) пишет: «неизбежно, наряду с оригинальными современными шрифтами всегда будут существовать реконструкции более ранних классических шрифтов, дополняя современную шрифтовую палитру».

    projector_1(6)_23
    projector_1(6)_24

    А Илья Рудерман, развернуто комментирующий на страницах журнала свои собственные работы, замечает: «До тех пор пока визуальный язык общения будет использовать символы, символам будет требоваться уникальность. Даже если количество шрифтов сравняется с количеством людей на планете — можно же представить себе, будто у каждого из нас есть по своему собственному шрифту, характерному только нам и никому больше, — даже в этом случае, шрифтам потребуются изменения — ведь по мере взросления человек будет меняться, следовательно, меняться придется и шрифту».

    projector_1(6)_26
    projector_1(6)_27

    Проект № 4 «Предмет» открывается статьей Анны Балагуровой «16 Animali». Она посвящена проекту итальянского дизайнера Энцо Мари. Набор из 16 фигурок животных — деревянная головоломка, икона дизайна ХХ века, которая из игрушки превратилась не только в арт-объект, но и в воплощение многолетних аналитических изысканий Мари как дизайнера-теоретика. Объект можно было живьем увидеть на выставке «100 предметов итальянского дизайна», в течение трех месяцев экспонировавшейся в Лофт Проекте ЭТАЖИ.

    projector_1(6)_30

    Далее среди предметов уже упоминавшаяся новая «антикризисная» публикация и уже ставшая постоянной рубрика «Предмет», демонстрирующая высшие дизайнерские достижения из коллекции компании Vitra. В этот раз в рубрике читайте рассказ Нины Филюты о творении братьев Буруллеков — стуле Vegetal.

    projector_1(6)_33

    Две публикации Проекта № 5 «Среда» подготовлены главным редактором Митей Харшаком по его собственным впечатлениям от посещения «Домов мастеров» в Дессау. Дома Вальтера Гропиуса, Лионеля Файнингера и Ласло Мохоли-Надя, Георга Мухе и Оскара Шлеммера, Пауля Клее и Василия Кандинского сейчас внесены в список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Об их истории и сегодняшнем дне читайте в статьях «Дома мастеров» и «Черная комната».

    projector_1(6)_35
    projector_1(6)_36
    projector_1(6)_38

    В Проект № 6 «Интерактив» член редакционного совета Михель Шуленин подробно разбирает онлайн-эксперимент под названием Dontclick.it, а обозреватель «Проектора» Дмитрий Никифоров внимательно листает онлайн-портфолио студии Bionic Systems.

    projector_1(6)_40
    projector_1(6)_42

    Проект № 7 «Фотографирование» посвящен замечательному петербургскому фотографу Андрею Чежину. Андрей сам написал текст о себе и своем верном фотоаппарате «Горизонт», при помощи которого ему удаются волшебные и непостижимые кадры.

    projector_1(6)_45
    projector_1(6)_46

    В проекте № 8 «Школа» Сергей Хельмянов рассказывает о своем опыте руководства дипломным проектированием — о том, как шла работа и с какими сложностями пришлось столкнуться в проекте Надежды Стефанович, защищенном в прошлом году на Мухинской кафедре Дизайна.

    projector_1(6)_49

    И в завершении номера Проект № 9 «Книги». Авторитет и знаток истории книги Михаил Карасик повествует о курьезных страницах отечественной книжной истории тридцатых годов ХХ века в публикации «В противогазе».

    projector_1(6)_52
    projector_1(6)_53

    Проектор № 1(6) 2009

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.