Editor’s column

n mid-August, the news came from Moscow — the magazine ArtChronika — the flagship of the Russian print media about the current visual arts, was closed. A few months before the magazine Big City had been abolished. Each piece of news of such kind makes me sad. The «turf» of quality issues about our visual arts is becoming increasingly deserted. I am very often asked if there is any future for print media, and whether it’s high time we liquidated the «paper» and stayed only on the Internet? This costs less and the audience is wider, and you don’t have to be bothered with the questions of logistics. Printing agencies worry what will happen to the multipage issues in the near future, say, a ten-year term.

I’ve got a couple of reasons on this. The first (and quite rightly) argument of those who believe that the paper will die out and there will be one continuous web, is that in matters of providing relevant information the paper hopelessly loses to the online media. Even weeklies don’t not keep up with updating news feeds. It is no coincidence that the biggest news publications, still having a paper version, are increasingly shifting to the Web. Politics, economy, social sphere, sport — everything goes to the Web. «Paper» can not cope with the cases where immediate response to events is needed. And there’s becoming more and more of those who can perceive information only from the screen rather than paper. But this all is about extremely fast media — those who are required to respond to events immediately. However, there are unhasting areas featuring contemplation and tranquility. Paper periodicals of such kind, of course, are not going to pass away. On this subject, I have recently spoken to my London friends. And London, delicate for the Russian abundant whim, is a long-standing role model. So, the paper periodicals in the field of creative industries feels great there — dozens of thick magazines on fashion, design, architecture, the visual arts are published. These are not fanzines but mature multipage issues, having no shortage of advertisers. And that’s fine, they feel perfect as a first-class publishing product and as a business. Moreover, they haven’t heard of any crisis among paper periodicals.

Well, that’s in London. And how about us? Coming back to the first paragraph — good magazines are being closed. That’s a drag. But they are the fallen centuries-old trees that fertilize the soil to make the sprouts of new, unhurried and juicy visual periodicals grow. In the end, there are two basic approaches among the «slow» media — to work on the magazine to make money, or to earn money to make a magazine. Unfortunately, many publishers from the outset can not make up their mind about their own approach. Hence, due to unrealized expectations, media projects close down. If the project does not provide at least one position- fame and status, or pleasure and money, of course, dash it all! But such examples are still a rarity. Typically, at least one of the constituents is present. However, if you want to earn as a publisher on the media, and they give you anything other than money, then there is an incorrectly chosen strategy (or the sphere of the issue’s activity). In general, it is necessary to confess to yourself honestly, why you want to dive into publishing, so that there will occur no surprises later.

Projector, for example, has never been conceived as a business. And it has been well for six years and 24 issues in total harmony with itrself, the founder, publisher and senior editor. That’s what I wish all of you.



    Projector № 3(24) 2013

    First, our friend photographer Dima Goryachev came to the editirial and gave us a beautiful old meat grinder. It was a long time ago. Then, one day before the press time, when all the publications were ready, I could not come up with the cover. Suddenly I spotted the chopper! That was definitely the right object. And yet something did not work, until I decided to jam all the headlines along with announcements of the publications into this meat grinder. After all, what is the magazine in fact? It’s a mincer. We process design information into informative «minced meat».

    The protagonist of the historical perspective is Joe Colombo, the famous Italian designer, the futurist of the 1950-60s. He died too early and did not have time to embody all of his radical designs. But everything he managed to do was abundantly enough to have taken his place in the history of design.

    01_colombo

    Next character of the issue, Dima Kavko, belongs to the group of designers who expand the boundaries of the profession. It’s now getting more and more difficult to describe the scope of his professional activity cleraly. The range of his interests involve graphics, artistic actionism and video. In the large interview with him we’re trying to understand why Dima Kavko has started feeling tight within graphic design. Also, this summer Dima was the guest of the program Poster Stars, which we organized in New Holland.

    02_kavko

    19 June the New Museum opened the exhibition of the international poster campaign Mayakovsky-120. Sergey Serov, the curator of the event, gave off a call among in the professional community. 28 designers from Russia and all over the world responded with posters dedicated to Vladimir Mayakovsky. Projector has published all the works participating in the action. «In the general cultural, non-design discourse Vladimir Mayakovsky is considered a poet. At the same time, from our graphic design point of view, the situation is a bit different — the development of graphic design of all the XX century owes to Mayakovsky considerably more than the poetry».

    03_mayakovsky

    Project № 4 «Object» opens with the story by Vladimir Pirozhkov about Russian design and how he engineered the Sochi Olympic torch: «Russian design is simple, functional, resourceful and cheap. Kalashnikov, tank T-34. It’s simple, reliable, functional, maintainable, ugly. Thick, robust, heavy, will work until you die. The car Niva, the spaceship Soyuz. What are we conveying? The triangular pyramid packet of milk. A bottle of kefir — a very cool story — the top which flexes under your finger, and then you return the bottles — an awesome system! Ring-shaped cracknels — that’s fantastic! The bread which is transported over long distances and soaks in your stomach. You can gather a lot of stuff, and this all is the part of the Soviet and Russian design. It has the understanding of simplicity, functionality and a popular print».

     

    04_fakel

    To continue the topic of objects, the new luminous sculpture of the project Color music we are running together with my friends from the company Artlight is coming: the chandelier-drum and the floor lamp of unknown typologies, reminiscent not of the drum but the revolver cylinder, where you can see flutes and clarinets with white frosted light bulbs instead of the cartridges.

     

    05_svetomuzobaraban

    Pavel Ulyanov, the expert in the history of the design of the XX century, shares another object from his extensive collection. «The armchair shows an interesting mixture of art deco, constructivism and functionalism. Such combinations are rare, since all of these styles were radical enough and didn’t tend to synthesise, but Denmark, staying away from the latest trends of the 1920s, could generate such compilations».

     

    06_armchair

    Project № 5 «Environment» is opened by the interview with Winy Maas, the star architect, head of the Dutch bureau MVRDV: «I think the architect’s toolbox today is rather limited. Stone, glass, steel. That’s firstly. Secondly, we look at each other much closer than before. People from Thailand or Vladivostok know our architecture as well as the Dutch do. We don’t copy each other, we do influence. I love that we share with each other, that the architects have got common goals. People want to work with urban spaces and nature. We are similar».

     

    07_maas

    Then there’s the story of the «White City» — Tel Aviv — the world’s largest center of preserved architecture of modernism, the heritage of Bauhaus: «By the end of the forties Bauhaus legacy didn’t evoke any interest, and the buildings started to lose their refined appearance gradually — here and there wings were constructed, the loggias got glazed, the plaster crumbled and darkened. These houses seemed to be something quite ordinary until 2003, when the UNESCO recognized «White City» as the spot of world cultural heritage. Over two thousand buildings got into the protected zone, a large-scale restoration program was started».

     

    08_whitecity

    In the project number 7 «Photography» Maria Gavrilchik tells us about the work of the Saint- Petersburg photographer Dmitry Provotorov: «When duping, one can take the glass with different amount of striation dust on it; to reveal the texture you may drip glue or diluted acrylic or put semi-translucent sticky tape onto the glass. Next stage is a complex toning, pseudosolarization, giving a clear gradation of four colors: black, dark brown, gray and white».

     

    09_provotorov_1
    09_provotorov_2

    This year the British Higher School of Design celebrated its tenth anniversary. In terms of the project «School» I congratulate the «Briton» and take an interview with its founder and director Alexander Avramov: «We have no aim to grow for growth’s sake, we don’t have megalomania, there is a desire to continue doing something interesting and useful in the field of education, to fill the gap in the market of Russian creative education. We are developing due to this. As for the regional branches, we are planning different scenarios, but haven’t had any certain plans so far. It would be interesting to open a branch in Staint-Petersburg, but the decision hasn’t been made yet».

     

    10_britanka

    The «School» also presents a wonderful and crazy student project «Semёn», by Taisia Lysenko under the supervision of Konstantin Startsev: «The main hit of the entire thesis defence, of course, was manually grown live poster on hand-made paper. It’s just a miracle! Taisiya had planted the seeds along the outline of the logo, and it sprouted green leaves on exactly the diploma’s Day».

     

    11_semen

    In terms of the book project our authority Mikhail Karasik tells about one of the masterpieces of constructivist books — Arithmetic by El Lissitzky: «Lissitzky accepted the new religion straight-out, and his later attempts to romanticize the creative enthusiasm of the generation blur and simplify this great artist’s essense of work in the eyes of the descendants rather than rehabilitate it.

     

    12_lisitsky

    Also, a bit about Mayakovsky in this issue. Timofey Markov’s publishing agency has almost completed the work on a new version of the famous Bug with the illustrations by Gaga Kovenchuk. The new edition will be presented in December, but already now the artist has told of how the historical Bug was being made in the early seventies, and how the new book is: «I made the book in one breath. The publishing house liked it at first, but gradually I began to notice some omissions. The editors were especially confused with the passage in the second part of the play, which deals with the resurrection of Prisypkin, namely that I’d painted the word RE-SUR-RECT on three spreads. I thought it was a very lucky find, but the publisher accepted it with hostility, apparently, they still had strong memories of Khrushchev’s anti-formalism: «Well, you’ve really left no stone unturned! There is no paper in the country, it’s too costly».

    13_klop

    In the special project «ProArt» I publish best texts from the portal ART1. Our authoritative columnists write for ART1.ru what they see fit. We don’t edit their texts in any way and neither assign the themes of next publications. After all, they are columnists, so it’s not fundamentally important for us what questions they raise; it’s more important that these issues are raised by them. Next, the question is put into the agenda of the information space of art simply by the fact of making a point by these people.

     

    17_proiskusstvo

    Alexander Borovsky writes about the project of the Monument to a tyrant by Ilya and Emilia Kabakov: «This was the moment Kabakov amazed me. He’s the father of Russian conceptualism. Having lost the resistance of the environment, he was engaged in intellectual games. He’s still gaining strength being in his eighties. In my opinion, the project Monument to a tyrant is the best of his works, because this is simple and clear, this is Russian narrative».

    14_borovsky

    Alexander Dashevsky encourages artists to not hesitate to paint portraits of their children: «There is no need to flirt with the concept and simulate a special intellectual twist. Authors will inevitably project their personality onto alike experience. The feed data is equal, at the same time each has their own style and way to cope with difficulties. Someone will turn to the feigned sweetness, someone to the brutality, someone else to the social sphere or to the physiology. Why? Here is a «to grow into» group portrait (I mean both the authors and the depicted) of next generation of victims, producers and consumers of contemporary art. The spell, one can say. Tahir Salahov, for example, succeeded at it at the time».

    15_dashevsky

    And Lisa Savina summarizes the experience of the galleries’ collaboration with young artists: «We look at a portfolio in electronic format and have joy seeing just a little .jpeg, quietly dream of pdf-presentations and are indignant to be asked to download archived data. We beg you: please do not write texts and do not invent any mediocre titles such as brand realism to what you do — this will not justify the visual inconspicuouness merged with inner emptiness».

    16_savina

    Projector № 3(24) 2013

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

В середине августа пришли новости из Москвы — закрылся журнал «АртХроника» -— флагман российских печатных СМИ об актуальном визуальном искусстве. Несколькими месяцами ранее прекратил существование журнал «Большой город». Каждая подобная весть печалит. Поляна качественно сделанных изданий о нашем визуальном становится все более пустынной. Меня самого часто спрашивают: есть ли будущее у бумажных СМИ и не пора ли прикрыть «бумагу» и остаться только в Интернете? И затрат меньше, и аудитория шире, и вопросами логистики можно не озадачиваться. Типографии волнуются, что будет с многостраничниками в ближайшей, скажем, десятилетней перспективе.

Есть у меня на сей счет пара соображений. Первый (и вполне справедливый) аргумент тех, кто считает, что бумага помрет и будет один сплошной Интернет, заключается в том, что в вопросах подачи актуальной информации бумага безнадежно проигрывает онлайн-СМИ. Даже еженедельные газеты не поспевают за обновлением ленты новостей. Неслучайно крупнейшие новостные издания при сохранении бумажной версии все больше смещаются в Сеть. Политика, экономика, социалка, спорт — все в Сеть. Там, где нужна мгновенная реакция на происходящие события, «бумаге» не справиться. Да и все больше становится тех, кто воспринмает информацию лишь с экрана, а не с листа бумаги. Но это все касается исключительно быстрых СМИ — тех, кто обязан мгновенно реагировать на события. Однако есть сферы неспешные, которым пристали созерцательность и спокойствие. И на этой территории бумажная периодика, естественно, никуда не денется. На эту тему я недавно разговаривал со своими лондонскими друзьями. А Лондон — щепетильный для российской обильной прихоти — давний пример делать жизнь с кого. Так вот, бумажная периодика в сфере творческих индустрий чувствует себя прекрасно — издаются десятки толстенных журналов по моде, дизайну, архитектуре, визуальным искусствам. При этом вовсе не «фэнзины», а по-взрослому сделанные многостраничники, не испытывающие недостатка в рекламодателях. И ничего, прекрасно себя чувствуют не только как первоклассный издательский продукт, но и как бизнес. И ни о каком кризисе в бумажной периодике слыхом не слыхивали.

Ну так то в Лондоне. А что у нас? Возвращаясь к первому абзацу — закрываются хорошие журналы. Жалко. Но они, как павшие вековые деревья, удобряют почву росткам новой неспешной и вкусной визуальной периодики. В конце концов, существуют два основных подхода в медленных СМИ — делать журнал, чтобы зарабатывать деньги, или зарабатывать деньги, чтобы делать журнал. К сожалению, многие издатели с самого начала не могут определиться с пониманием собственного подхода. Отсюда — из нереализованных тайных ожиданий — происходят закрытия медийных проектов. Если проект не приносит хотя бы чего-то одного — славы и статуса, удовольствия или денег, то, конечно, к чертовой матери его. Но такие примеры все же редкость. Как правило, хотя бы одна из составляющих все же присутствует. Но если ты как издатель хочешь зарабатывать на СМИ, а они тебе генерируют все что угодно, кроме денег, то налицо неверно выбранная стратегия (или сфера деятельности самого издания). В общем, надо на берегу честно признаться себе, зачем нырять в издательское дело. И тогда не будет неожиданностей.

Вот «Проектор», например, никогда не мыслился как бизнес. И прекрасно существует вот уже шесть лет, и 24 номера в полной гармонии с собой, учредителем, издателем и главным редактором. Чего и всем желаю.

    Проектор № 3(24) 2013

    Сначала в редакцию пришел наш друг — фотограф Дима Горячёв и подарил красивую старую мясорубку. Это было давно. Потом, за день до сдачи номера, когда все публикации уже были готовы, я все не мог придумать обложку. Вдруг смотрю — мясорубка! Вот это предмет для обложки. И все что-то не получалось, пока не решил засунуть всю шапку номера вместе с анонсами публикаций в эту мясорубку. Ведь что такое журнал в самом-то деле? Мясорубка и есть. Перерабатываем дизайнерское мясо в информационный фарш.

    Главным героем исторического экскурса стал Джо Коломбо — знаменитый итальянский дизайнер-футурист пятидесятых–шестидесятых годов ХХ века. Он ушел из жизни слишком рано, и не успел воплотить в жизнь все свои радикальные замыслы. Но и того, что он сделал хватает с избытком, чтобы Коломбо занял свое место в истории дизайна.

    01_colombo

    Герой номера — Дима Кавко принадлежит к числу дизайнеров, расширяющих границы профессии. Взять и четко охарактеризовать его сферу профессиональной деятельности сейчас становится все сложнее и сложнее. В круге его интересов и графика, и художественный акционизм, и видео. В большом интервью мы пытаемся разобраться,
    почему Диме Кавко стало тесно в рамках графического дизайна. Также этим летом Дима был гостем программы Poster Stars, которую мы организовывали на Новой Голландии.

    02_kavko

    19 июня в Новом музее в Санкт-Петербурге открылась выставка международной плкатной акции «Маяковский-120». Куратор акции — Сергей Серов, кинул клич в профессиональное сообщество. 28 дизайнеров из России и мира откликнулись на этот призыв и сделали каждый по плакату, посвященному Владимиру Маяковскому. В «Проекторе» опубликованы все работы, принявшие участие в акции. «В общекультурном, недизайнерском дискурсе за Владимиром Маяковским закрепилось определение «поэт». В то же время с нашей графдизайнерской колокольни ситуация выглядит несколько иначе — развитие графического дизайна всего ХХ века Маяковскому обязано значительно большим, нежели ему же обязано развитие стихосложения».

    03_mayakovsky

    Проект № 4 «Предмет» открывается рассказом Владимира Пирожкова о русском дизайне и о том, как он проектировал олимпийский факел Сочи: «Русский дизайн — простой, функциональный, находчивый, дешевый. Автомат Калашникова, танк Т-34. Просто, надежно, функционально, ремонтопригодно, некрасиво. Толстый, надежный, тяжелый, будет работать, когда ты умрешь. Автомобиль «Нива», корабль «Союз». Что у нас конвейерное? Упаковка для молока треугольной пирамидкой. Бутылка кефира — очень крутая история — пробка, которая прогибается под пальцем, а потом ты сдаешь бутылки — офигенная система! Сушки — просто класс. Это хлеб, который транспортируется на дальние расстояния и размокает у тебя в животе. Много штучек, которые можно насобирать, и они составят советский или русский дизайн. У него есть понимание простоты, функциональности и лубковости».

    04_fakel

    В продолжение предметной темы новые светящиеся скульптуры проекта «Светомузыка», который мы делаем вместе с моими друзьями из компании «Артлайт» — люстра-барабан и неведомой типологии торшер, также напоминающим барабан, но уже не музыкальный, а револьверный, где вместо патронов заряжены флейты и кларнеты с белыми матовыми лампочками.

    05_svetomuzobaraban

    Павел Ульянов — эксперт по истории дизайна ХХ века делится еще одним предметом из своей обширной коллекции. «Кресло демонстрирует интересное смешение ар-деко, конструктивизма и функционализма. Такие сочетания редки, так как все эти стили были достаточно радикальны и не расположены к синтезу, но Дания, остававшаяся в стороне от модных тенденций конца 1920-х годов, могла порождать подобные компиляции».

    06_armchair

    Проект № 5 «Среда» открывается интервью Вини Мааса — звездного архитектора, руководителя голландского бюро MVRDV: «Я думаю, что инструментарий архитекторов сегодня довольно ограничен. Камень, стекло, сталь. Это первое. Во-вторых, мы смотрим друг на друга гораздо более пристально, чем раньше. Люди из Таиланда или Владивостока знают нашу архитектуру так же хорошо, как голландцы. Мы не копируем друг друга, мы влияем друг на друга. Мне нравится, что мы делимся друг с другом, что у архитекторов появились общие цели. Люди хотят работать с городскими пространствами, с природой. Мы похожи».

    07_maas

    Далее рассказ о «Белом городе» — Тель-Авиве, — крупнейшем мировом центре сохранившейся архитектуры модернизма, наследия Баухауса: «К концу сороковых наследие Баухауса прежнего интереса уже не вызывало, и здания постепенно стали утрачивать свой рафинированный облик — тут и там пошли расти флигели, остекляться лоджии, штукатурка темнела и осыпалась. Эти дома казались чем-то совершенно обычным, пока в 2003 году ЮНЕСКО не признало «Белый город» памятником всемирного культурного наследия. В охранную зону попало больше двух тысяч зданий, и стартовала масштабная программа реставрации».

    08_whitecity

    В проекте № 7 «Фотографирование» Мария Гаврильчик рассказывает о работах петербургского фотографа Дмитрия Провоторова: «При контратипировании можно брать стекла разной зацарапанности и запыленности, для появления фактуры — капать на них клей, разбавленный акрил, наклеивать полупрозрачный скотч. Следующая стадия — сложное тонирование, посевдосоляризация, дающая четкую градацию из четырех цветов: черного, темно-коричневого, серого и белого».

    09_provotorov_1
    09_provotorov_2

    В этом году Британская высшая школа дизайна отметила первый десятилетний юбилей. В проекте «Школа» поздравляю Британку и беру интервью у ее основателя и директора Александра Аврамова: «У нас нет задачи расти ради роста, у нас нет гигантомании, есть желание продолжать делать что-то интересное и полезное в области просвещения, заполнить лакуны на рынке российского творческого образования. За счет этого мы и развиваемся. Насчет региональных филиалов — мы планируем разные сценарии, но пока конкретных планов нет. Было бы интересно открыть филиал в Питере, но решение пока не принято».

    10_britanka

    Еще в «Школе» прекрасный сумасшедший студенческий проект «Semёn», сделанный Таисией Лысенко под руководством Константина Старцева: «Главным хитом всей защиты, безусловно, стал выращенный в бумаге ручного литья живой плакат. Это просто чудо какое-то! Таисия посадила семечки по контуру логотипа, и он пророс зелеными листиками в аккурат ко дню защиты дипломов».

    11_semen

    В книжном проекте наш авторитет Михаил Карасик рассказывает об одном из шедевров конструктивистской книги — об Арифметике Эль Лисицкого: «Лисицкий без сомнений и компромиссов уверовал в новую религию, поздние же попытки романтизировать созидательный пафос того поколения не столько реабилитируют в глазах потомков великого художника, сколько размывают, да и упрощают суть его творчества».

    12_lisitsky

    И еще в этом номере про Маяковского. Издательство Тимофея Маркова почти закончило работу над новой редакцией знаменитого «Клопа» с иллюстрациями Гаги Ковенчука. Новое издание будет представлено в декабре, но уже сейчас художник рассказал о том, как делался исторический «Клоп» в начале семидесятых и как делается новая книга: «Я сделал книгу на одном дыхании. В издательстве она поначалу очень понравилась, но постепенно я стал замечать некоторые недомолвки. Особенно редакторов смутило место во второй части пьесы, где речь идет о воскрешении Присыпкина, а именно что слово ВОС-КРЕ-СИТЬ я нарисовал на трех разворотах. Я считал это очень удачной находкой, но в издательстве ее приняли в штыки, видимо, сильны еще были воспоминания о хрущевской борьбе с формализмом: «Ну ты уж размахнулся, в стране нет бумаги, это неэкономно».

    13_klop

    В особом проекте «Проискусство» я публикую лучшие тексты портала АРТ1. Наши авторитеты-колумнисты пишут на ART1.ru то, что считают нужным. Мы никак не редактируем их тексты и не задаем темы очередного выступления. На то они и колумнисты, что нам не столь принципиально важно, какие именно вопросы они поднимают, сколь важен тот факт, что эти вопросы поднимают именно они. Далее вопрос сам собой вносится в повестку дня информационного пространства искусства просто самим фактом его озвучивания именно этими людьми.

    17_proiskusstvo

    Александр Боровский пишет о проекте Памятника тирану Ильи и Эмилии Кабаковых:

    «И вот я поразился Кабакову. Он — отец русского концептуализма. Потеряв сопротивляемость среды, он занялся интеллектуальными играми. В свои восемьдесят лет он все еще набирает мощь. По-моему, проект «Памятника тирану» — самая лучшая его работа, потому что она простая и понятная, это русский нарратив».

    14_borovsky

    Александр Дашевский призывает художников не стесняться писать портреты своих детей: «Здесь не нужно кокетничать с концепцией и симулировать особый интеллектуальный вывих. Авторы с неизбежностью будут проецировать свою индивидуальность на одинаковый опыт. Исходные данные равны, при этом у каждого свой почерк и свой способ справляться с трудностями. Кто-то пойдет в наигранную сладость, кто-то в брутальность, кто-то в социалочку, а кто-то в физиологию. А что? Вот такой групповой (и в смысле авторов, и в смысле изображаемых) портрет «на вырост» грядущего поколения жертв, производителей и потребителей современного искусства. Заклятие, можно сказать. У Таира Салахова, например, в свое время это получилось».

    15_dashevsky

    А Лиза Савина обобщает опыт работы галерей с молодыми художниками: «Мы смотрим портфолио в электронном виде и радуемся, когда это просто маленькие джипеги, тихо мечтаем о pdf-презентациях и негодуем, когда нам предлагают скачать архив. Умоляем: пожалуйста, не пишите текстов, не придумывайте тому, что вы делаете, никаких бездарных названий типа бренд-реализма — они не смогут оправдать визуальную невыразительность, совокупившуюся с внутренней пустотой».

    16_savina

    Проектор № 3(24) 2013

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.