Editor’s column

We’re only two issues old, the magazine has just been put up. But we have already managed to do something since we opened. In September, the magazine traveled directly from the printers to the capital to participate in the World Advertising Forum. Even the editorial board received the magazine later — part of the run was being printed while another part was being distributed in Moscow. In a few days the first presentation of the magazine was successfully held in Saint-Petersburg Design Gallery / bulthaup. The event turned out to be happy and crowded — even 400 copies brought here in advance were not enough for everybody. This is how some of the guests spoke of the presentation the next day: «Usually, such events are attractive with food and drinks for free, and you were different — you’ve told a lot of interesting things». In Moscow, we told a lot of interesting things in turms of the exhibition Advertising 2007, where the presentation of the first issue was held. too. Then we won the first professional award — in November we participated in Saint-Petersburg Design Biennale Modulor, and the art director of the magazine Anastasia Kolesnikova took the bronze in traditionally very intense and competitive category «Graphic Design». And this is just the early days!

Projector will necessarily collect its friends on publishing every issue. For example, in mid-February, we are organizing an exhibition at the British Higher School of Design in Moscow, and in March, the Day of Graphic Design, we’ll participate in the exhibition Design and Advertising, then we’re going to Kiev International Advertising Festival. And, of course, we’ll drink to Projector in Staint-Petersburg.

During this time, we’ve had the first subscribers and advertisers. This means the magazine is trusted, it’s in demand and will continue growing up. Altogether, we published four issues in 2008, — you are holding the January one. We’ll come out again in May, August and November. Subscribe, read, write letters «Dear editors!..»



    Pojector № 1(2) 2008

    In September the magazine traveled right out of the printing office to the capital in order to participate in the International advertising forum. As for the ditorial board, the magazine reached it even later— part of the run was still in print while the first copies were already received by the subscribers.

    In the «Personification» column the magazine continues to get the readers acquainted with outstanding designers of the past and our famous contemporaries. For your attention, Saint-Petersburg artist and designer Yuri Shtapakov, widely known in Russia and abroad due to his unique books, published in author circulation from one to ten copies.

    projector_1(2)_17
    projector_1(2)_18

    In the author column of Olga and Alexander Florensky there will be presented their next project of the «Russian design» series: Towards IES. The works by them are kept in the collections of the leading museums of the world, including the state Russian Museum and the Hermitage (Saint-Petersburg), the Tretyakov Gallery and the state Museum of Fine Arts (Moscow), numerous museums of other cities of Russia as well as KIASMA (Helsinki, Finland), the City Art Museum (Helsinki, Finland), Victoria and Albert Museum (London, Great Britain).

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd
    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    In the column «Lettering» the type history researcher Alexandra Rusakova will speak of the European and American font poster of the XIX century.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    Our permanent author Yuri Gordon – possibly, the highest-sought font designer in Russia – will represent his garniture CONQUEROR and tell how it was designed.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    This issue’s column «Object» examines the evolution of such a customaty item as an iron. The art historian Nina Filyuta traces the evolution of its shapes and the usage of it from faraway times till nowadays. Our expert, the famous industrial designer Evgeny Maslov, working for BMW-Designworks, comments on designer conceptions and the ways of the future possible evolution of the iron.

    projector_1(2)_19

    We’re also publishing in this set the interview with Saint-Petersburg designers Andrey Lyublinsky and Maria Zaborovskaya. They became famous due to their innovative projects in the field of conceptual design toys.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    In the section «Environment» ew present the famous project Ferropolis (The Iron City), established in Germany not far from Belrin.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    The publication about the city environment is continued with the project No city by the famous Saint-Petersburg photographer Dmitry Goryachev.

    projector_1(2)_20
    projector_1(2)_21

    In the column «Interactive» the member of the editorial board and our permanent author Michael Shulenin goes on observing how young designers present their portfolios on the Internet. Also, dear sir Shulenin observes deisgn news sites.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    In the section «Photography» the member of the editorial board, the photographer for the state Hermitage Yuri Molodkovets continues the series of publications 25 photography lessons.

    projector_1(2)_22

    In terms of the co-project with the state museum Tsarskoselskaya collection we publish the works by Alexey Zelensky, the photographer.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd
    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    The section «School», devoted to design studies, the editorial board member Sergey Serov tells about «summer schools» of callygraphy run by the famous designers Yevgeny Dobrovinsky and Yuri Gulitov in Hersones. The «school» of this summer was dedicated to wine.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    Another publication in this section presents the graduate work by Dmitry Mirilenko. His book «Dadaism typographics» has just taken gold in the nomination «graphic design» at Saint-Petersburg design biennale Modulor.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    In the column «Books» the legendary Russian designer Maxim Zhukov, who is now worksing at the UN headquarters in New York, tells of one of his works of 1982. This is Typography, the famous book by Emil Ruder.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    We also present the new book of the series The stars of graphic design, dedicated to the works by Yuri Gulitov.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    In this section, the general partner of the magazine Projector, the information and bookselling company IndeksMarket presents 4 books out of their bottomless bins. This time the magazine has chosen the book Great graphics on a budget, which shows how to achieve maximal expressiveness with a minimum of resources.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd
    projector_1(2)_23

    Projector № 1(2) 2008

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Нам всего-то от роду два выпуска, журнал только-только начинается. Но уже за время, прошедшее с выхода пилотного номера, мы кое-что успели сделать. В сентябре прямо из типографии журнал отправился в столицу на Всемирный рекламный форум. Даже до редакции журнал добрался позднее — еще часть тиража была на сборке, а первые экземпляры уже разлетались по Москве. Еще через пару дней состоялась и первая петербургская презентация журнала. Она с успехом прошла в Галерее дизайна/bulthaup. Мероприятие получилось радостным и многолюдным — даже четырехсот завезенных накануне экземпляров не хватило на всех желающих. Как на следующий день отзывались о презентации некоторые из приглашенных: «Обычно на такие события приходят поесть и выпить на халяву, а у вас было по-другому — много чего интересного рассказывали». В Москве мы рассказывали много чего интересного уже в рамках выставки «Реклама 2007», где прошла презентация того же первого номера. Потом завоевали первую профессиональную награду — в ноябре выставились на петербургской биеннале дизайна «Модулор», и арт-директор журнала Анастасия Колесникова взяла бронзу в традиционно самой насыщенной и конкурентной номинации «Графический дизайн». И на этом мы останавливаться не собираемся!

«Проектор» обязательно будет собирать своих друзей по выходе каждого номера. Например, в середине февраля мы устраиваем выставку в Британской высшей школе дизайна в Москве, а в марте в День графического дизайна покажемся на выставке «Дизайн и реклама», потом поедем в Киев на Международный фестиваль рекламы. И, конечно же, выпьем за здоровье «Проектора» в Санкт-Петербурге.

За это время у нас появились первые подписчики и первые рекламодатели. А это значит, что журналу доверяют, он востребован и дальше будет только набирать обороты. Всего в 2008 году мы выпустим четыре номера — вы держите в руках январский выпуск. Еще мы выйдем в мае, августе и ноябре. Подписывайтесь, читайте, пишите письма «дорогая редакция!»

    Проектор № 1(2) 2008

    В сентябре прямо из типографии журнал отправился в столицу на Всемирный рекламный форум. Даже до редакции журнал добрался позднее — еще часть тиража была на сборке, а первые экземпляры уже разлетались по Москве.

    В разделе Персонификация журнал продолжает знакомить читателей с выдающимися дизайнерами прошлого и нашими знаменитыми современниками. Представляем вашему вниманию Петербургского художника и дизайнера, Юрия Штапакова, широко известного в России и за её пределами благодаря своим уникальным книгам, изданным авторским тиражом от одного до десяти экземпляров.

    projector_1(2)_17
    projector_1(2)_18

    В авторском разделе Ольги и Александра Флоренских будет представлен их очередной проект из серии «Русский дизайн»: «Движение в сторону ЙЫЕ». Работы Ольги и Александра Флоренских находятся в собраниях ведущих музеев мира, в том числе Государственного Русского Музея и Государственного Эрмитажа (СПб), Третьяковской Галереи и Государственного Музея Изобразительных Искусств им.Пушкина (Москва). Многих музеев России, а также в коллекциях музеев «KIASMA» (Хельсинки, Финляндия), «City Art Museum» (Хельсинки, Финляндия), музея Виктории и Альберта (Лондон, Великобритания).

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd
    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В разделе Буквы исследователь истории шрифта Александра Русакова поведает о европейском и американском шрифтовом плакате XIX века.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    А наш постоянный автор Юрий Гордон – пожалуй, самый востребованный дизайнер шрифта в России – представляет свою гарнитуру «CONQUEROR» и расскажет о том, как она создавалась.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В этом номере в разделе Предмет мы рассмотрим эволюцию такой привычной и знакомой вещи как утюг. Искусствовед Нина Филюта прослеживает эволюцию форм самого предмета и технологии его использования с незапамятных времён до наших дней. Наш эксперт – знаменитый промышленный дизайнер Евгений Маслов, работающий в компании BMW-Designworks, прокомментирует дизайнерские концепты и возможные пути дальнейшей эволюции утюга.

    projector_1(2)_19

    Так же в этом разделе мы публикуем интервью с петербургскими дизайнерами Андреем Люблинским и Марией Заборовской. Они стали известны благодаря своим инновационным проектам в сфере концептуальной дизайнерской игрушки.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В разделе Среда мы представляем знаменитый проект Ferropolis (Железный Город), реализованный в Германии неподалёку от Берлина.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    Публикации о городской среде продолжает проект известного петербургского фотографа Дмитрия Горячёва «Города нет».

    projector_1(2)_20
    projector_1(2)_21

    В разделе Интерактив член редакционного совета и наш постоянный автор Михель Шуленин продолжает свои наблюдения за тем, как дизайнеры представляют свои портфолио в интернете. Также уважаемый господин Шуленин обозревает дизайнерские новостные сайты.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В разделе Фотографирование член редакционного совета, фотограф Государственного Эрмитажа Юрий Молодковец продолжает серию публикаций «25 уроков фотографии».

    projector_1(2)_22

    А в рамках совместного проекта  с государственным музеем «Царскосельская Коллекция» мы публикуем работы фотографа Алексея Зеленского.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd
    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В разделе Школа, посвящённому дизайн-образованию, член редакционного совета Сергей Серов рассказывает о «летних школах» каллиграфии, проходящих под руководством знаменитых дизайнеров Евгения Добровинского и Юрия Гулитова в Херсонесе. «Школа», прошедшая этим летом, была посвящена вину.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    Другая публикация этого раздела представляет дипломный проект Дмитрия Мириленко. Его книга «Типографика дадаизма» только что завоевала золото в номинации «графический дизайн» на петербургской бьеннале дизайна «Модулор».

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В разделе Книги легендарный российский дизайнер Максим Жуков, ныне работающий в штаб-квартире ООН в Нью-Йорке, рассказывает об одной из своих работ 1982года. Это знаменитая книга Эмиля Рудера «Типографика».

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    Мы также представляем новую книгу из серии «Звёзды графического дизайна», посвящённую творчеству Юрия Гулитова.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd

    В этом же разделе генеральный партнёр журнала «Проектор» информационно-книготорговая компания ИндексМаркет представляет 4 книги из своих бездонных закромов. Выбор журнала в этот раз пал на книгу “Great graphics on a budget”, показывающую как при минимуме средств добиться максимальной выразительности.

    Projector_Cover_#1.indd
    projector_1(2)_23

    Проектор № 1(2) 2008

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.