Editor’s column

The main idea with which accompanies me while I taking up the magazine and the projects, parallel with the magazine life, is again expressed on the cover. All I need to be happy is love, circle, triangle and square. And I know the special magic spells to combine out of these four components everything that constitutes life — family, friendly get-togethers, magazine, travel, food, wine, exhibitions and other pleasures, including a motorcycle.

So, on the eve of next issue’s press time I began to feel I was constructing something wrong out of love, circle, triangle and square — I mean I got a vivid bias towards the job and the lack of common human life. I’d immersed into the profession too much, and despite my fanaticism and prolonged unwilingness to emerge out of this immersion, I’m trying to practise and improve my refuse threshold. This is a problem — I do like saying «No» and either don’t know ahow to do it, everything interests me, and eventually, having aceepted tempting challenges here and there, at one point I feel as a robot, simultaneously working over a bunch of different issues and doesn’t get any pleasure of his best business in the world. However, this feeling quickly passes — there’s no time for reflection. When you have a demanding schedule, there’s a great way to emerge out of the working process and spread your wings for a short time. After the bike you again feel to be a human, not a robot, and again, you can dive back into the workflow.

My fellow designers, we’re doing the right and the best thing to deal with in life, but it’s sometimes necessary to emerge out of here somewhere not related to the profession at all. The reboot the head gets when you shift to another activity eventually leads to the fact that in the course of the project miracles happen — ideas turn up one after another, exhibitions opene, customers smile. Besides, the new activities you try shouldn’t come from related fields, such as, for example, first you draw, then write an article, or create a multipage issue and take up interior objects. Instead, get on the bike and go gymkhaning and cruising around. This cleans the chakras like yoga! I want to share this emotion not less than a new successful project. Join in now, guys, let’s go motorcycling!



    Projector № 2(19) 2012

    The new Projector has come out, already the nineteenth. This is the second time when the magazine is about love. The first one was the poster «LOVE» by Chaika two years ago, and now the cover is decorated with a magical poster by my friends Karin van den Brandt and Alex Clay All you need is LOVE. «Love is all you need» in general human understanding and ``All you need is a circle, a triangle and a square`` in the view of modernist designers. The simplest geometric forms are everything for us. And, actually, I have already written once that the magazine is not about design, but about love in fact.

    The character of the design history of the twentieth century is the Swede Bruno Mattsson. A detailed story about the master is presented by our expert Pavel Ulyanov: «Bruno Mattsson made a revolution in the Swedish design, having re-directed it from geometric functionalism to organic modernism, bringing it to the Danes and Finns, being far ahead. Impressed by the works of Alvar Aalto and Marcel Breuer, Mattsson created his own ergonomic model, based on the structural purity and human-centered logic».

    01_mathsson

    And the heroes of the day are my friends Karin van den Brandt and Alex Clay all together, they’re a friendly studio Leslie Moore. See the interview about thousands (no kidding, actually, thousands!) studio logos, the magazine Mark and museum projects, given me by the founders of the famous Dutch studio. I remind you that the cover of this issue of the magazine is their work.

    02_lesley_moore_1
    03_lesley_moore_2

    Last issue we, unfortunately, did not manage to make a publication on Vladimir Yefimov. Maxim Zhukov, Yuri Gordon and Sergey Serov think of their friend, and I recall the teacher and big brother: at Projector, we usually try to avoid superlatives — «the best», «unique», «most»- it’s kind of embarrassing. But not now, when we remember Vladimir, who all these words are applicable to easily and naturally. He played a not disputed role in the profession. The polymath and the highest-class professional, he was a beacon, a landmark in the profession for a lot of people, for the whole guild of type design, largely built with his effort».

     

    04_efimov

    The veterans’ stories about gone decoration techniques are continuing with the memoirs of letraset: «In the previous issue we published the story of the stencil, familiar to every resident of the country over thirty years old from countless ads in stores, housing maintenance offices, schools, visual propaganda design and other moderately accidental features. It was the subject of what is called the low level, which knew the simple touch of a ballpoint pen and was despised by professional decorators. Letraset is an absolutely different matter. It was hardly possible to buy it from a common stationery store. Letrasets were available for the privileged only — those ones being in close terms with the art shops».

     

    05_letraset

    Project № 4 «Subject» is filled with light in this issue. I present his new collection of lamps called Color music. Together with the company Artlight we make them out of old musical instruments: «The most difficult part in the creation of this collection is not to overdo. Musical instruments themselves have a very strong charisma, like most subjects, whose form is subordinated to function. Moreover, their shape and substantiality is the result of a long evolution, during which the instrument acquired more and more advanced features. Each tricky curve and every hole is in its place. And this material allows, in my opinion, only one level of interference — adding functional elements in a delicate way».

     

    06_lightmusic

    And then I spoke to a young, but already quite a well-known on the international stage designer Maxim Maximov — he was one of those who represented the Russian pavilion at the recent Florence Design Week. «If I have a particular task, I try to dive into it completely, with the help of music, movies, facts, it is important to me to feel the culture and everything associated with a project, in order to create a clear and truthful image. Basically I work at night, this is the time when you can concentrate in a relaxed manner and not to control your performance. I enjoy the time at dawn, when the streets are slowly getting noisier, I can hear birds singing, and proudly finish my work».

     

    07_maximov

    Project №5 «Environment» represents two places: one static — St. Petersburg Tkachi, and one itinerant — Moscow Design Museum.

    The industrial zone of Saint-Petersburg along the Obvodny canal goes on acquiring beautiful creative spaces. The one before last issue of Projector studied the new life of the former gas tanks, at the embankment of the Obvodny canal, 74. And just recently, literally next door, at 60, a new space called Tkachi has opened. The space is — wow! — ten thousand square meters of architectural companies, design studios, fashion shops and all other nice things called «creative industries». The creative director of «Weavers» Ksenia Jurkova and its CEO Sergey Komarov have been interviewed by Projector.

    08_tkachi

    In general, the genre of the interview and the designers’ direct speech is becoming increasingly popular in my magazine. The human intonation and real communication is always much livelier than any bellissimo art review. That’s why I’ve interviewed Sasha Sankova — the founder and guardian angel of many design projects, as well as the Moscow Design Museum, situated in the bus, since recently.

    09_design_museum

    №7 «Photography» project presents the works by Yuri Molodkovets. It’s surprising that we’ve released nearly two dozens of issues and this is the first time the pictures by Yuri- our friend, the member of the editorial board and a constantly good adviser, have appeared in the Projector! He is one of the most striking, and certainly the highest-demanded photographer in Saint-Petersburg. Estimating the number of projects he runs with his permanent artistism, you may think there are at least three Yuries. But I know that he is the one!» We are pleased to show one of his most famous projects — The New Hermitage.

    10_molodkovets_1
    11_molodkovets_2

    In the project № 8, «School», we continue curiously watching the activity of the Finnish company Isku working with students. This time, Isku has cheered up the furniture design faculty of «Mukha» with a professional competition. «Tthis experience has been extremely valuable for our students-furniture makers! The authors of projects found themselves in the situation very close to the real work of a European designer — the distinct terms of reference, the mandatory use of specific material (in this case Grada plywood of UPM), consultations with representatives of the client company. And as a result, we have absolutely serious professional results!»

     

    12_isku

    The project №9 «Books» has come out to be very rich in historical publications. It opens with the article Inlaid pattern by Mikhail Karasik : «The history of printmaking is the example of using new technical tools by an artist, when the progress has rushed far ahead. This is when production workers, without sacrifising the quality of work allow themselves to take advantage of it in creative ways. This happened with inlaid patterns, which in the second half of the 1920s tried to replace a line drawing or a vector, they’d say today. One of the most popular methods of illustrating a book in those years was a set, and if simple and fine lines and inscriptions (author, title, publisher) could be enclosed into a frame even by a novice printer, a drawing on the cover required a lot of skills, and sometimes a artist’s guidance».

     

    13_typo_picture

    In continuation of the historical subject there’s the article by Andrey Kharshak Pilots, devoted in particular to the album Heroes of the battle for Leningrad and the graphic design of the Great Patriotic War as a whole: «If you try to describe the impression of the graphic design briefly, the word «pomp» probably will be most appropriate. This is understandable — the issue would be handed over as a memorable gift, a reward for particularly distinguished soldier-heroes of the air battles for Leningrad».

     

    14_pilots

    We also publish in this issue a long-planned story by Andrey Rossomahin about the book masterpiece by Vladimir Mayakovsky and Alexander Rodchenko About That»: «1923 may be considered the year of the highest achievements in the book publishing fate of Mayakovsky: firstly, nineteen of his books were published within one year (!), and secondly — nothing equal to the constructivist books-concepts For voice and About that ever appeared».

     

    15_pro_eto

    It is no coincidence that the publication by Rossomahin appears in this particular issue. The publishing house Vita Nova has recently printed a book by the author of Magic squares of Russian avant-garde. Mayakovsky’s case. The magazine could not miss the appearance of such a significant work, and I am pleased to publish a wonderful review by our permanent author Alexey Boyko on a book by our another author Andrey Rossomahin: «Such an issue of a complex genre and problematics, clear in its design and thorough in performance, hasn’t been generated by the Russian humanitarian thought and art-publishing practice for ages!»

    16_rossomahin

    That’s not all, though. The project №10 «ProArt», launched in the previous issue in cooperation with the Association of galleries, is going on and acquiring new participants. Dmitry Semenov’s Gallery, Rizzordi Art Foundation and Creative space Tkachi— welcome to join the galleries that participated in the first edition of our «magazine in the magazine» at the club! «And if in the earlier issue we just tried to introduce the galleries, having shown a short passage about the business of each one, «ProArt» №2 goes deeper into the institutional links between an artist and a gallery owner, between a gallery owner and an architect or designer, between a designer and an art buyer. An ultimate collector, a connoisseur, of course, remains the key figure in the artist-gallery-designer-collector chain, but clear and smooth interaction of all the components of this system forms a transparent and civilized art market, whose correct settings all the participants of the process benefit from. We publish the conversations of gallerists and curators, designers, architects and collectors, their stories about private practice cases. We try to understand the ways contemporary art finally reaches its consumer. The unique publication involve 22 pages of direct speech of art market heroes- read the interviews, opinions, comments.

    17_art

    Projector № 2(19) 2012

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Главная мысль, с которой я берусь за журнал и параллельные журнальной жизни проекты, снова выражена на обложке. Все, что мне нужно для счастья, — это любовь, круг, треугольник и квадрат. И я знаю специальные волшебные заклинания, чтобы из этих четырех составляющих делать все остальное, из чего складывается жизнь, — семья, дружеские посиделки, журнал, путешествия, еда, вино, выставки и прочие радости, включая мотоцикл.

Так вот, накануне сдачи очередного номера мне стало казаться, что я немного не те вещи сооружаю из любви, круга, треугольника и квадрата — в смысле явный перекос в сторону работы и нехватка общечеловеческого. Перебрал с погружением в профессию. И несмотря на мой фанатизм и затянувшееся нежелание выныривать из этого погружения, пытаюсь тренироваться и повышать свой порог отказа. В этом проблема — я не умею и не люблю говорить нет, мне все интересно, и в итоге, согласившись на все заманухи здесь и там, в один прекрасный момент я начинаю чувствовать себя роботом, который фигачит кучу разных историй одновременно, а удовольствия от своего самого прекрасного на свете дела не получает. Правда, это ощущение быстро проходит — на рефлексию просто нет времени. При жестком графике есть отличный способ за короткое время выныривать из рабочего процесса и расправлять крылья. После мотоцикла снова чувствуешь себя человеком, а не роботом. И снова можно погружаться обратно в рабочий процесс.

Братцы дизайнеры, наше дело правое и самое лучшее, чем можно в жизни заниматься. Но периодически и из него надо выныривать в какую-то совсем не связанную с профессией историю. Перезагрузка, которую голова получает от смены деятельности, в итоге приводит к тому, что в проектном процессе начинают твориться какие-то чудеса — идеи придумываются одна за другой, выставки открываются, заказчики улыбаются. Притом примерять новую деятельность надо не из смежной сферы, типа сначала порисовал, потом написал статью или сделал многостраничник и взялся за интерьерные объекты. А так — раз, и на мотоцикл, нарезать кренделя на джимхане. Прочищает чакры, что ваша йога! Этим чувством хочется делиться не меньше, чем новым удачным проектом. Присоединяйтесь, братцы, поехали кататься!

    Проектор № 2(19) 2012

    Вышел в свет очередной номер журнала «Проектор». Уже девятнадцатый по счету. Второй раз за историю журнала обложка про любовь. Первый раз два года назад был плакат Чайки «LOVE». Сейчас на обложке волшебный плакат моих друзей Карин ван дер Брандт и Алекса Клэя «All you need is OVE». «Все, что вам нужно — это любовь» в общечеловеческом прочтении и «Все, что вам нужно — это круг, треугольник и квадрат» в прочтении дизайнерами-модернистами. Простейшие геометрические формы — это наше все. А вообще я писал уже как-то, что журнал не о дизайне, а про любовь на самом-то деле.

    Персонаж дизайнерской истории ХХ века в этом номере швед Бруно Матссон. Подробный рассказ о мастере в изложении нашего эксперта Павла Ульянова: «Бруно Матссон произвел переворот в шведском дизайне, переориентировав его с геометрического функционализма
    на органический модернизм, приблизив его к ушедшим далеко вперед датчанам и финнам. Под впечатлением от работ Алвара Аалто и Марселя Бройера Матссон создает свою эргономическую модель, основанную на структурной чистоте и человеко-центрированной логике».

    01_mathsson

    А герои сегодняшнего дня — мои друзья Карин ван дер Брандт и Алекс Клэй — вместе дружная студия «Лесли Моор». О тысячах (кроме шуток, реально, тысячах!) логотипов студии, журнале Mark и музейных проектах читайте в интервью, которое дали мне основатели знаменитой голландской студии. Напоминаю, что обложкой этого номера журнал обязан именно им.

    02_lesley_moore_1
    03_lesley_moore_2

    В прошлом номере мы, к сожалению, не успели сделать публикацию, посвященную Владимиру Ефимову. Своего друга вспоминают Максим Жуков, Юрий Гордон и Сергей Серов. А я вспоминаю учителя и старшего товарища: «В «Проекторе» мы обычно стараемся избегать превосходной степени — «лучший», «единственный», «самый» — как-то неловко, что ли. Но не сейчас. Мы вспоминаем Владимира Венедиктовича Ефимова, к которому все подобные слова применимы как-то естественно и легко. Его роль в профессии никогда ни у кого не вызывала сомнения. Исследователь-энциклопедист и профессионал высшего порядка, он был маяком, ориентиром в профессии для многих, для всего цеха шрифтового дизайна, во многом и построенного его усилиями».

    04_efimov

    Рассказы старожилов об ушедших оформительских техниках продолжаются воспоминаниями о летрасете: «Рассказ о трафарете, знакомом каждому жителю нашей страны старше тридцати по бесчисленным объявлениям в магазинах, жэках, учебных заведениях, оформлению наглядной агитации и прочим умеренно акцидентным проявлениям, мы публиковали в позапрошлом номере. Он был предметом, что называется, низким, знавшим прикосновение простой шариковой ручки и презираемым профессиональными оформителями. Летрасет — совсем другое дело. Его едва ли можно было купить в простом канцелярском магазине. Летрасеты были доступны избранным — тем, кто был своим в магазинах для художников».

    05_letraset

    Проект № 4 «Предмет» в этом номере наполнен светом. Я представляю свою новую коллекцию светильников под названием «Светомузыка». Вместе с компанией «Артлайт» мы делаем их из старых музыкальных инструментов: «Самое сложное в создании этой коллекции — не переусердствовать. Музыкальные инструменты сами по себе обладают очень сильной харизмой, как и большинство предметов, чья форма подчинена функции. Более того, их форма и материальность — это плод длительной эволюции, в ходе которой инструмент приобретал все более и более совершенные черты. Каждый хитрый изгиб и каждое отверстие на своем месте. И этот материал допускает, на мой взгляд, лишь одну степень вмешательства — деликатное добавление функциональных элементов».

    06_lightmusic

    А потом я поговорил с молодым, но уже изрядно засветившимся на международной сцене дизайнером Максимом Максимовым — именно он был одним из тех, кто представлял Российский павильон на недавней Флорентийской неделе дизайна. «Если у меня есть конкретная задача, я стараюсь погрузиться в нее полностью, с помощью музыки, фильмов, фактов, для меня важно почувствовать культуру и все, что связано с проектом, чтобы создать ясный и правдивый образ. В основном я работаю ночью, это то время, когда можно сосредоточенно расслабиться и не контролировать свои возможности. Мне очень нравится момент рассвета, когда улицы не спеша набирают шум, слышно пение птиц, и я с гордостью заканчиваю свою работу».

    07_maximov

    Проект № 5 «Среда» представляет два заведения: одно недвижимое — питерские «Ткачи», и одно движимое — московский «Музей дизайна».

    Промышленный пояс Петербурга в районе Обводного канала продолжает прирастать прекрасными творческими пространствами. В позапрошлом номере «Проектор» изучал новую жизнь Газгольдеров на Обводном, 74. И вот совсем недавно буквально по соседству, в доме 60 по набережной Обводного канала, открылось пространство под названием «Ткачи». Пространство — о-го-го — десять тысяч квадратных метров под резиденции архитектурных бюро, дизайн-студий, модные магазины и все прочее прекрасное под общим названием «креативные индустрии». На вопросы «Проектора» отвечают креативный директор «Ткачей» Ксения Юркова и генеральный директор Сергей Комаров.

    08_tkachi

    Вообще, жанр интервью и прямая речь героев дизайна становится все более популярной в моем журнале. Человеческая интонация и реальное общение всегда живее самого распрекрасного искусствоведческого анализа. Поэтому я взял интервью у Саши Саньковой — основателя и ангела хранителя многих дизайнерских проектов, а с недавнего времени еще и Московского музея дизайна, разместившегося в автобусе.

    09_design_museum

    Проект №7 «Фотографирование» представляет работы Юрия Молодковца. Удивительно вот что — выпустили уже почти два десятка номеров, а работы Юры — нашего друга, члена редсовета и неизменного доброго советчика, появились в «Проекторе» впервые! «Ну конечно, все знают Юрия Молодковца! Он один из самых ярких, и уж точно самый востребованный фотограф Петербурга. По тому количеству проектов, которые он с неизменным артистизмом успевает воплощать в жизнь, может показаться, что его как минимум трое. Но я-то знаю, что он такой один!» С радостью показываем один из его знаменитых проектов — «Новый Эрмитаж».

    10_molodkovets_1
    11_molodkovets_2

    В проекте № 8 «Школа» мы с интересом продолжаем наблюдать за активностью финской компании «Иску» в работе со студентами. На сей раз, «Иску» профессиональным конкурсом взбодрила Мухинскую кафедру Дизайна мебели. «Ценность подобного опыта для наших студентов-мебельщиков огромна! Авторы проектов оказались в ситуации, максимально приближенной к реальной работе европейского дизайнера — внятное техническое задание, обязательное использование конкретного материала (в данном случае фанера Grada от UPM), консультации с представителями компании-заказчика. И в итоге имеем абсолютно вменяемый профессиональный результат!»

    12_isku

    Очень насыщенным историческими публикациями оказался проект №9 «Книги». Он открывается публикацией Михаила Карасика «Наборная картинка»: «История печатной графики является примером использования художником новых технических средств, когда прогресс ушел далеко вперед. Именно тогда производственники без ущерба для дела позволяют воспользоваться его плодами в творческих целях. Так произошло и с наборной картинкой, которая во второй половине двадцатых годов прошлого века попыталась заменить штриховой рисунок, сегодня сказали бы векторный. Одним из популярных приемов оформления книги в те годы стал набор, и если простые и декоративные линейки и надписи (автор, название, издательство) мог заключить в раму даже начинающий типограф, то рисунок на обложке требовал большого мастерства, а порой и руководства художника».

    13_typo_picture

    В продолжение исторической темы статья Андрея Харшака «Летчики», посвященная в частности альбому «Герои воздушных боев за Ленинград и графическому дизайну времен Великой Отечественной в целом: «Если попытаться коротко охарактеризовать впечатление от графического оформления, то слово «помпезность», наверное, будет самым подходящим. И это понятно — издание вручалось как памятный дар, как награда особо отличившимся воинам-героям воздушных боев за Ленинград».

    14_pilots

    Также в этом номере публикуем давно запланированный рассказ Андрея Россомахина о книжном шедевре Владимира Маяковского и Александра Родченко «Про это»: «1923 год можно признать годом высших достижений в книгоиздательской судьбе Маяковского: во-первых, в течение одного года было издано девятнадцать его книг (!), а во-вторых — ничего равного конструктивистским книгам-концептам «Для голоса» и «Про это» больше не появлялось».

    15_pro_eto

    И неслучайно публикация Россомахина появляется именно в этом номере. Совсем недавно в издательстве «Вита Нова» вышла книга автора «Магические квадраты Русского авангарда. Случай Маяковского». Журнал не мог пропустить появление столь значительного труда, и я с радостью публикую замечательный отзыв нашего постоянного автора Алексея Бойко на книгу другого нашего автора Андрея Россомахина: «Давно не порождали такого сложного по жанру и проблематике, ясного по замыслу и тщательного по исполнению издания русская гуманитарная мысль и художественно-издательская практика!»

    16_rossomahin

    Но и это еще не все. Начатый в прошлом номере совместно с Ассоциацией галерей проект №10 «Проискусство», продолжается и прирастает новыми участниками. К галереям, принявшим участие в первом выпуске нашего «журнала в журнале» прибавились: Галерея Дмитрия Семенова, Rizzordi Art Foundation и Креативное пространство «Ткачи» — добро пожаловать в клуб! «И если в прошлом номере мы постарались просто представить галереи, показав по короткому отрывку из деятельности каждой, то «ПРОИСКУССТВО» №2 заныривает глубже в институциональные связи между художником и галеристом, между галеристом и архитектором или дизайнером, между дизайнером и покупателем искусства. Конечная фигура коллекционера, ценителя, естественно, остается ключевой в цепочке художник—галерея—дизайнер—коллекционер. Но четкое и отлаженное взаимодействие всех составляющих этой системы формирует цивилизованный и прозрачный арт-рынок, от правильной настройки которого выигрывают все участники процесса. Мы публикуем беседы галеристов и кураторов с дизайнерами, архитекторами и коллекционерами, их рассказы о случаях из собственной практики. Мы пытаемся понять, какими путями современное искусство достигает в итоге своего конечного потребителя». Уникальные публикации — 22 страницы прямой речи героев арт-рынка — интервью, мнения, комментарии.

    17_art

    Проектор № 2(19) 2012

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.