Editor’s column

It seems necessary to write in more detail that the magazine has kinda existed for four years. Fifteen issues have come right on time, Projector has been developing and growing stronger despite the crisis, he suffers a fantastic success and gaining popularity calories and blah blah blah stuff like that. But it’s not interesting. I’d rather talk about the pleasures.

Take my word: making your own magazine gets you high much stronger than the epicurean gluttony, leaves behind wine drinking in the company of friends and only a little loses to sex! For me, Projector is an analogue of the assembly of all possible carnal pleasures, only a conscious way, a kind of intellectual Rablezianism. Running a magazine is subject to a belief very important to me: if you do something, then it must be done with pleasure. Otherwise, what for? That’s why the magazine has never had and will never have any critical analysis and publications on what I don’t like. I see no reason to waste time and energy on negative coverage. Surrounding reality is full of without our effort.

Quite a few miracles have happened for the past four years since the pilot issue. One of them, for example, is that the stars have always been aligned so that the money for another edition of Projector came just in time. And over these years I have never had to introduce publishing tricks like a double issue, reducing the number of pages or deterioration of the quality of paper. Ever since I started running Projector, my eponymous design studio has mostly dealt with reasonable and sane customers, whom it’s pleasant to talk to, not only to bill for the work performed. Here I also see the manifestation of the good humor of the supreme forces.

I sometimes happen to hear my colleagues saying that running a magazine must be difficult, and even more often that wasting my hard earned money on it might be a drag. I don’t deny the lack of even the most run-down oil rig of mine, which would be an uninterruptible money source for all the family, and the magazine is definitely not the entertainment for free. But, guys, I can’t stop this pleasure! And when in 2009 it was tough, I was seriously thinking of selling the car — that money would be enough for two or three issues! But, fortunately, we didn’t reach such extremes. This is the secret of the viability of Projector — as long as manage to enjoy the process, the magazine will continue. This is the greatest happiness — to be doing what pleases you and brings so many positive emotions.

As before, publishing each issue is a miracle to me. The magazine kind of lives on its own, and I’m assigned to be its observer. A gardener might be feeling the same while watching his favorite tree growing, sprout new branches and, to be honest, sometimes fruits. This comparison is completely applicable to the magazine.

Guys, I sincerely wish everyone to enjoy what you are doing. Let it be bright and creative activity! And, if you decide to write me a letter of congratulations about the fourth anniversary of Prjector, don’t be afraid to waste good words, write, I’ll be glad.



    Projector № 3(16) 2011

    Next edition of Projector №3 (16) has been published, which means the magazine is four years old - four by four = sixteen! The editorial board didn’t booze much though. Next year we’ll have a drinking-bout at its fifth anniversary, and the forth is not an excuse.

    The issue opens with the story of Pavel Ulyanov about his namesake, the Danish designer Paul Kierholme. «Paul Kierholm’s design is based on a deep sense of material and sincere intention to show its visual characteristics. One day, Paul said: «I’ll express the nature of the material rather than my own individuality». One of his fundamental decisions was to use spring steel, extremely durable and flexible at the same time, being able to react to changes in weight. Kierholm handled steel accurately and carefully, in the best traditions of wood processing, so that dull surface and chrome elements could reflect the smallest change of the incident light.

    kjaerholm_1
    kjaerholm_2

    Further on, our permanent author Olga Severina has been able to interview the world star of graphic design Lech Drevinsky: «If we talk about the graphic part of it, a poster is a metaphor itself. I always initially take a metaphor that comes almost immediately as a premise. I do think in general, that all art altogether, well, or at least the art interesting to me — it’s all one big metaphor» (Lech Drevinsky). Projector has published a dozen of posters by the artist at a time.

    drewinski_1
    drewinski_2

    Project number 3 «Lettering» is this time dedicated to the famous book by D.A. Pisarevsky Types and their construction, published in 1920s. Andrey Kharshak, the author of the article, refers to archive documents, which are published for the first time: «Thinking on the book, I decided to give two special (and perhaps not entirely private) episodes in the life of people were closely connected with this book. There’s a photo kept in our family archives, which was taken September 23, 1924 — the day of one of the most severe floods in the entire history of Saint-Petersburg. Three of the seven people in the photo belong to the creators of the book Types and their construction. They are Hollerbach, Beluga and Ohochinsky. And on the reverse side of the photograph there’s the emblem of the Leningrad society of bibliophiles glued in, drawn by Sergei Chekhonin, whose exquisite font compositions are also published in the book».

    fontbook

    Continuing the series of articles about prominent objects created by designers in cooperation with the Finnish company Martela, we talk about the Skybar chair. Anna Kozhara, the author of the article: «Volumetric seat and backrest gently flow into another, ultimately thinning at the junction, and the neutral base allows this combination of the opposites almost float in the air».

    skybar

    This issue has a lot of interviews. One of them was specially given to Aurika Vilardi by the designer Dmitry Loginov about concepts, exhibitions, public relations, scandals and provocations gave specifically for Projector. Quite a rank conversation was the result. The publication is also noteworthy by the fact that it has become perhaps the kitschiest one all over the history of Projector. But in this case I consider its quality as a definite advantage!

    loginov

    The following interview is with the two Alexanders: Avramov — the director of the British Higher School of Design and Matveev — the author of the project of its new space. There’s a look at the design process from both sides — a customer and an architect.

    britanka

    But the following publication, dedicated to the opening another building designed by Sergey Choban in Saint-Petersburg, is also constucted in the way of matching the customer and the architect. Igor Vodop’yanov — the manager and co-owner of the holding Theorem, and Sergey Choban — the architect and author of the project, answered the questions of Projector’s senior editor: «World-class architects, implementing their projects in Saint-Petersburg, are extremely rare. Or, possibly, the architects exist, but there’s no civilized customer? Yes, there is! And the example is in front of you. The works by Sergey Choban, which would do an honor to any European capital, are in our city. In September, the business center Summer is going to be opened, involved into the solid ensemble with the already constructed business center Benois. The construction of the complex of the buildings in the area adjoining Sverdlovskaya embankment is a bright contribution by the architect and the management company Theorem in the development of modern civilized urban environment».

    summer

    This issue’s project № 5 «Environment» is quite extensive. The editorial board spotted several stories that they immediately wanted to tell. One of them is about a big black ball, or the Project O. «We met the large black inflatable ball at the presentation of the next issue of The Baltic Project, when the installation by young Estonian designers almost buried the Projector senior editor under itself. A witty and multi-valued work provoked interaction, and the presentation guests passioately kicked the ball in the courtyard of the Museum of Urban Sculpture. Projector heartily thanks Volodya Frolov, the senior editor of The Baltic Project for taking such a wonderful object and its authors to our latitude, and also for the fact that he allowed, speaking gallerist language, «to capture» the heroes of his magazine for publication at us.

    O

    The project «Environment» closes with the publication of the work, probably, by one of the most popular graphic artists among all architects — Maurits Cornelis Escher. Here’s the text by Alexey Boyko, as usual artistic and insightful: «Maurits Cornelis Escher think much of his names, reducing them to initials: M.C. Escher,which was brief, clear and brand. In general, he was able to decisively show preferences, interests and intentions in the field of art, as if suppressing creative doubts and his weak body burdening with uncommon artistic mind. His purposeful focus on rigorous, painstaking embodiment of the visions and visually-mental games unites the Dutchartist, famous in in the mid-twentieth century, with the engravers of the late Gothic period and the Northern Renaissance».

    aescher

    Anna Kozhara seems to have captured the photography section and now from issue to issue meets and talks to our heroes-photographers. For this issue, Anna has interviewed Nick Teplov — a longtime friend of the magazine Projector. «Nick Teplov — a graphic designer, artist, filmmaker, but not a professional photographer. At least, that’s what he says. Photography for him is not a craft or art, but a means of visual thinking, material for the follow-up work, sketches and documentation».

    teplov_1
    teplov_2

    Next, the member of Projector’s editorial board Yuri Molodkovets presents the exhibition of Alexander Lavrentiev: One, two, three. Portraits 2005-2010. The exhibition is held in a friendly gallery Stachka.

    stachka

    Project № 8 «School» tells not exactly about student works. Sergey Helmyanov considers the examples of cult (oh, I do not like this word, but otherwise I can’t convey he idea) design by graduates of «Mukha». Among them, there’s UAZ-469, the minibus RAF, GAZ-24 Volga ,VAZ 2121 Niva, GAZ-14 Chaika, the hydrofoil Meteor, the camera LOMO Compact and other objects, which convincingly prove that the design in the USSR did exist!

    muha

    The historical publication of the project №9 «Book» is dedicated to the alliance October, put up in 1928. Our constant author Mikhail Karasik speaking: We’re having the constructivist manifesto of the association of industrial society creators. The word is graphically articulated by the simplest and most efficient means of the time, — typeset materials: fonts and ornaments. The designer, typesetter and proofreader with the help of different font size and bold, emphasise the point. Printing in two colors, black and red, not only enhances the layout, but also makes the ssue sound in even more agitational manner. Saturation and energy of the set are the main tools to accentuate the visual content».

    october

    And there’s one more full interview in the book section. Margarita Vasilyeva and Andrey Nadein — the godmother and godfather of the magazine Advertising Ideas — answer the questions of Projector. The magazine continues to explore the recent history of design periodicals in Russia over the past twenty years. Advertising Ideas is an example of remarkable longevity. Having appeared in 1993, it has approached a completely unthinkable for our professional periodicals serial number ninety!

    adideas

    Projector № 3(16) 2011

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Вроде надо бы написать поподробнее о том, что, мол, вот уже четыре года жизни журнала позади. Пятнадцать номеров вышли точно по графику, несмотря на кризисы, «Проектор» развивается, крепнет, терпит фантастические успехи, набирает калорий известности и бла-бла-бла все в таком духе. Но это неинтересно. Я лучше расскажу об удовольствиях.

Поверьте мне на слово — делать собственный журнал вставляет значительно сильнее самого эпикурейского обжорства, превосходит винопитие в дружеской компании и лишь самую малость уступает сексу! Для меня «Проектор» — это аналог совокупности всех возможных плотских утех, только в плоскости сознания, эдакое интеллектуальное раблезианство. Работа с журналом подчинена одному крайне важному для меня убеждению — если что-то делать, то это надо делать с удовольствием. Иначе зачем? Именно поэтому в журнале никогда не было и никогда не будет критических разборов и публикаций о том, что мне не нравится. Не вижу смысла тратить время и энергию на освещение негатива. Этого и так полно в окружающей действительности.

За прошедшие с пилотного номера четыре года произошло множество чудес. Одно из них, например, заключается в том, что звезды всегда вставали таким образом, что деньги на очередной выпуск «Проектора» приходили как раз вовремя. И мне ни разу за эти годы не пришлось идти на издательские хитрости вроде сдвоенных номеров, уменьшения количества полос или ухудшения качества бумаги. С тех пор как я стал делать «Проектор», у моей одноименной дизайн-студии преобладают разумные и адекватные заказчики, с которыми приятно общаться, а не только выставлять счета за выполненные работы. В этом я тоже вижу проявление доброго расположения высших сил.

Мне порой приходится слышать мнения моих коллег о том, что трудно, должно быть, делать журнал, а еще чаще о том, что жалко тратить на него нелегким трудом заработанные день-ги. Не спорю, у меня нет даже самой захудалой нефтяной скважины, которая служила бы источником бесперебойного питания семьи, и журнал, безусловно, не бесплатное развлечение. Но, друзья, я не могу отказать себе в этом удовольствии! И когда в 2009 году было совсем кисло, то я всерьез подумывал о том, чтобы продать машину, — вырученных денег хватило бы на два-три выпуска! Но, к счастью, до таких крайностей дело не дошло. В этом секрет жизнеспособности «Проектора» — пока у меня есть силы на то, чтобы получать удовольствие от процесса, журнал будет продолжаться. Это величайшее счастье — заниматься в жизни тем, что радует и приносит столь много положительных эмоций.

По-прежнему выход каждого номера для меня настоящее чудо. Журнал как будто живет своей собственной жизнью, а я приставлен к нему в роли наблюдателя. Схожие, должно быть, ощущения может испытывать садовник, наблюдающий, как его любимое дерево крепнет, пускает новые ветви и, что греха таить, порой плодоносит. К журналу подобное сравнение стопроцентно применимо.

Друзья, я всем искренне желаю получать удовольствие от того, чем вы занимаетесь. Пусть это будет светлая и созидательная деятельность! А еще, если надумаете написать мне письмо с поздравлениями к четырехлетию «Проектора», не держите доброе слово в себе, пишите, мне будет приятно.

    Проектор № 3(16) 2011

    Вышел в свет очередной номер журнала «Проектор» за номером 3(16). Это значит, что журналу исполнилось четыре года — четыре на четыре = шестнадцать! Особенно пьянствовать по этому поводу редакция не стала. Через годик загульно отметим пять лет, а четыре это пока не повод.

    Номер открывается рассказом Павла Ульянова о своем тезке датском дизайнере Поле Киерхольме. «В основе дизайна Пола Киерхольма лежат глубокое чувство материала и искреннее намерение показать его визуальные характеристики. Однажды Пол скажет: «Я больше выражаю характер материала, нежели собственную индивидуальность». Одним из его фундаментальных решений было использование пружинной стали, исключительно прочной и эластичной одновременно, позволяющей этому материалу реагировать на изменения веса. Киерхольм обрабатывал сталь с точностью и заботой, присущей лучшим традициям обработки древесины, матированные и хромированные поверхности элементов могли отражать мельчайшие изменения падающего света.

    kjaerholm_1
    kjaerholm_2

    Дальше больше. Наш постоянный автор Ольга Северина сумела взять интервью у мировой звезды графического дизайна Леха Древинского: «Если мы говорим о графической его составляющей, плакат — он сам по себе метафора. Я всегда изначально исхожу из метафоры, которая приходит практически сразу. Мне вообще кажется, что все искусство в целом, ну или по крайней мере то искусство, которое мне интересно, — это все одна большая метафора» (Лех Древинский). Проектор опубликовал сразу дюжину плакатов мастера.

    drewinski_1
    drewinski_2

    Проект № 3 «Буквы» в этот раз посвящен знаменитой книге Д.А. Писаревского «Шрифты и их построение», изданной в двадцатые годы ХХ века. Автор публикации Андрей Харшак приводит в статье архивные документы, которые публикуются впервые: «Размышляя над книгой, я решил привести два частных (а может быть, и не совсем частных) эпизода из жизни людей, имевших к этой книге самое прямое отношение. В нашем семейном архиве хранится фотография, сделанная 23 сентября 1924 года — в день одного из самых сильных наводнений за всю историю Санкт-Петербурга. На фотографии из семи человек трое принадлежат к числу создателей книги «Шрифты и их построение». Это Голлербах, Белуха и Охочинский. А на тыльной стороне снимка приклеена эмблема Ленинградского общества библиофилов, нарисованная Сергеем Чехониным, чьи изысканные шрифтовые композиции также опубликованы в книге».

    fontbook

    Продолжая цикл публикаций о выдающихся объектах, созданных дизайнерами в сотрудничестве с финской компанией Martela, мы рассказываем о кресле Skybar. Автор статьи — Анна Кожара: «Объемные сиденье и спинка кресла мягко перетекают друг в друга, максимально утончаясь в месте соединения, а нейтральное основание позволяет этому сочетанию противоположностей практически парить в воздухе».

    skybar

    В этом номере много интервью. Одно из них о своих концептах, выставках, пиаре, скандалах и провокациях дал Аурике Виларди специально для «Проектора» дизайнер Дмитрий Логинов. Получился достаточно откровенный разговор. Примечательна публикация еще и тем, что она стала, пожалуй, самой попсово-желтой за всю историю «Проектора». Но в данном случае я воспринимаю такое ее качество, как безусловный плюс!

    loginov

    Следующее интервью с двумя Александрами: Аврамовым — директором Британской высшей школы дизайна и Матвеевым — автором проекта нового пространства Британки. Взгляд на проектный процесс с двух сторон — заказчика и архиектора.

    britanka

    Но и следующая публикация, посвященная открытию в Санкт-Петербурге очередного здания, спроектированного Сергеем Чобаном также построена на двойном интервью заказчика и архитектора. На вопросы главного редактора «Проектора» ответили Игорь Водопьянов — управляющий и совладелец холдинга «Теорема» и Сергей Чобан — архитектор, автор проекта. «Архитекторов мирового уровня, реализующих свои проекты в Санкт-Петербурге, единицы. Или, может быть, архитекторы есть, а нет цивилизованного заказчика? Нет, есть! И пример перед вами. Работы Сергея Чобана, оказавшие бы честь любой европейской столице, появляются и в нашем городе. В сентябре откроется бизнес-центр «Лето», входящий в единый ансамбль с уже построенным бизнес-центром «Бенуа». Возведение целого комплекса зданий в районе, примыкающем к Свердловской набережной, — яркий вклад архитектора и управляющей компании «Теорема» в развитие современной цивилизованной городской среды».

    summer

    Проект № 5 «Среда» в этом номере достаточно обширен. В поле зрения редакции попали сразу несколько историй, которые захотелось рассказать. Одна из них про большой черный шар, или «Проект «О». «Мы встретились с большим надувным черным шаром на презентации очередного номера дружественного журнала «Проект Балтия», когда инсталляция молодых эстонских дизайнеров чуть не погребла под собой главного редактора «Проектора». Остроумная и многозначная работа провоцировала на интеракцию, и гости презентации увлеченно футболили шар по дворику Музея городской скульптуры. «Проектор» от души благодарит Володю Фролова — главного редактора «Проекта Балтия» за то, что он вытащил в наши широты такой замечательный объект вместе со всеми его создателями. А также за то, что он позволил, выражаясь галеристским языком, «свинтить» героев его журнала для публикации у нас».

    O

    И замыкает проект «Среда» публикация о работах, наверное, одного из любимых графиков всех архитекторов — Маурице Корнелисе Эшере. Как всегда артистичный и глубокий текст Алексея Бойко: «Мауриц Корнелис Эшер свои имена не жаловал, сведя их к инициалам — вместе с фамилией получилось: M.C. Escher, коротко, внятно и брендово. Он вообще умел решительно проявлять предпочтения, интересы, намерения в сфере искусства, будто подавляя недюжинной художественной волей как творческие сомнения, так и отягощения своего отнюдь не богатырского тела. Целеустремленная сосредоточенность на строгом, кропотливом воплощении видений и визуально-умственных игр роднит нидерландского художника, достигшего славы в середине ХХ века, с граверами периода поздней готики и Северного Возрождения».

    aescher

    Анна Кожара, похоже, закрепила за собой фотографический раздел и теперь из номера в номер встречается и беседует с нашими героями-фотографами. В этом номере Анна пообщалась с Ником Тепловым — давним другом журнала «Проектор». «Ник Теплов — графический дизайнер, художник, режиссер, но никак не профессиональный фотограф. По крайней мере, так он сам говорит. Фотографирование для Теплова — не ремесло и не искусство, а средство визуального размышления, материал для последующей работы, зарисовки и документация».

    teplov_1
    teplov_2

    Далее член редсовета «Проектора» Юрий Молодковец представляет выставку Александра Лаврентьева «Один, два, три. Портреты 2005—2010». Выставка проходит в дружественной галерее «Стачка».

    stachka

    Проект № 8 «Школа» рассказывает не совсем о студенческих работах. Сергей Хельмянов рассматривает культовые (ох, не люблю это слово, но иначе не скажешь) примеры дизайна, созданные выпускниками «Мухи». Среди них УАЗ-469, Микроавтобус РАФ, ГАЗ-24 «Волга», ВАЗ 2121 «Нива», ГАЗ-14 «Чайка», Судно на подводных крыльях «Метеор», фотоаппарат «ЛОМО Компакт» и другие объекты, убедительно доказывающие то, что дизайн в СССР был!

    muha

    Историческая публикация проекта № 9 «Книги» посвящена объединению «Октябрь», возникшему в 1928 году. Слова нашего постоянного автора Михаила Карасика: «Перед нами конструктивистки оформленный манифест объединения творцов индустриального общества. Слово графически артикулируется самыми простыми и технологичными по тому времени средст-вами — материалом из наборной кассы: шрифты и линейки. Конструктор, наборщик и верстальщик с помощью разной величины кегля шрифта и его жирности управляют чтением, выделяют главное. Печать в две краски, черной и красной, не только расширяет возможности верстки, но и придает изданию дополнительное агитационное звучание. Насыщенность, активность набора — главный визуальный инструмент акцентации содержания».

    october

    И еще одно парное интервью в книжном разделе. На вопросы «Проектора» отвечают Маргарита Васильева и Андрей Надеин — мать-основательница и отец-основатель журнала «Рекламные идеи». «Проектор» продолжает исследовать новейшую историю дизайнерской периодики в России за последние двадцать лет. Журнал «Рекламные идеи» — пример удивительного долголетия. Появившись в 1993 году, он уже подобрался к совершенно немыслимому для нашей профессиональной периодики порядковому номеру девяносто!

    adideas

    Проектор № 3(16) 2011

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.