Editor’s column

My close friends have already known for quite a long time that best gifts for me are the things with history, ones which have seen a lot and accumulated charisma in their lifetime. There are amazing objects that only get better after a time. This might be an authenticity indicator of any thing. If it ages beautifully over time and only gains wattage, it is, undoubtedly, the right design.

I’m keen on things with history, I can spend hours wandering through flea markets and rummaging in the debris of a junk shop, looking for the items of heavenly attraction. I have a feeling that in a couple of years my wardrobe will mostly have things older than me. As an example, here are these wonderful boots. On the inside of the shaft there’s a clearly visible stamp -1943! Sometimes I put them on to show off. And they are exactly twice older than I am! My favorite watch that I’ve been carrying for the past few months, is even older — ninety.

Unfortunately, only a few manufacturers enshrine durability into their articles, while most are interested in hurrying the customer up with inviting novelties. That’s why the objects themselves are often designed to be biased, with an eye to today, but when tomorrow comes, it all what seemed so fashionable, fresh and topical, is sent to a dump. Neither the manufacturer nor the designers themselves believe their item will remain relevant years later.

I support the idea that design should be scratched into eternity, seek for tomorrow. Being fashionable today is not the most noble goal.



    Projector № 2(15) 2011

    The summer Projector № 2 (15), 2011 has been released. In recent history, there’s been only one case when I when I asked an invited designer to decorate the cover: in 2010 we published the issue with bright black face without a logo but with a beautiful poster LOVE by Vladimir Chaika. Now there’s the same situation. The design of the cover and all the objects used in it aren’t by me, but the young and promising designer - Alisa Kharshak. The magazine intends to follow closely the creative development of this author closely, and I'm sure her works will appear on the pages of our publication again and again. At the moment of press-time Alisa Kharshak was three years and seven months old.

    Project № 1 «Personification» opens with an article by Anna Kozhara on the work of Charles and Ray Eames. The couple are the recognized classics of American design. For almost forty years of activity, they created several dozens of objects, many of which are considered to be the world’s «design icons». However, furniture isn’t their only legacy. Surprisingly, combining idealism and rationality, they sincerely wanted to change the world, using a very wide range of tools — design, architecture, art, cinema, photography and educational activities.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_008

    Next there’s an interview, with an outstanding (I don’t exaggerate!) Portuguese poster designer Joao Machado. Olga Severina has talked to maestro: «Portugal is a child of the Atlantic, which is only in its southern part spoiled with the warm breath of the Mediterranean. Dry and hot climate in the south is very different from what we have in the center and the north of the country, where I’ve spent most of my life. Here, the cold winters and rainy autumn are as customary as the midday heat of a summer seaside. In short, our climate is very similar to natural conditions in most European countries, located near the shores of the Atlantic. You may ask, what is this colorful entry for? To say that color comes in paint, and it is the most often subject of analysis, when it comes to my works».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_013

    Project № 3 «Lettering» consists of three publications. The first one is the «Chehonin» series by Alexei Dombrowsky continued: «Theatrical alphabet was the last bright work of the artist in a decorative font field. At the beginning of the next year, 1928, the fifty-year-old Sergey Chekhonin went on a business trip to France and did not return to his homeland. At first, having settled down in Paris, he maintained business relations with the Soviet publishers, but it didn’t last long».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_018

    The second publication about the letters is the story of Roger Teeuwen, the designer of Krooswijk font, who has recently visited Moscow and Saint-Petersburg with lectures on his works. When creating the font for the facade design, the authors thought about the multidimensionality of social communication. Any interaction can be covered from different perspectives — «I», «you», «everybody else». These three points of view, the three social positions have been interpreted by graphic language. It turned out that each font edge exists in its own plane, while being an integral part of a more complex, multidimensional structure.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_022

    The third publication of «Lettering» project is simply called 1926. «The first decade of the post-revolutionary Soviet Russia comes to an end. At the height of the era of the New Economic Policy, both the political and ideological dogmas are not so inviolable as a decade later, by the end of the t1930s. The twenties are the experiment time and creative search not only for designers and architects. It’s amazing how time stamps itself in the smallest manifestations of material and textual culture. The hero of the publication is a small book-calendar of the New Economic Policy newspaper The Commercial-Industrial Courier.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_025

    I’m lucky to open the project № 4 «Subject» with the interview given by Eero Aarnio. Meeting here such a celebrity is a rare thing. Unfortunately, there are not so many living designers, whose name is forever inscribed in the history of design of the twentieth century. That’s why the fact of master Aarnio’s arrival in Saint-Petersburg is even more surprising. I offer you the only interview given by Eero Aarnio during his visit. «I do everything alone. I do not understand how you can hire another designer. I can not. What do I do with them? Give him a pencil and say, «Draw me a chair — the world bestseller» ?! And what will happen? For the same reason I do not take any trainees and I’ve never taught. Although, of course, I keep getting a lot of requests from young designers who want to work with me».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_027

    Project №4 continues with the story of Pavel Ulyanov about one of the masterpieces of the twentieth century design — the chair Z-Down: «For me, a design masterpiece is an object which combines the three components in an equilibrium way: function, aesthetics and technology. Flawed function makes it impossible to use the object. Flawed aesthetics deprives the subject of emotional sense and does not bear the joy of interacting with it. Flawed technology eliminates seriality, and therefore accessibility. One of the things that, in my opinion, meets all the criteria for evaluating a design masterpiece, is the chair Z-down by the Danish designer Erik Magnussen. The author designed it back in 1968».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_030

    In a very easy and natural way Pavel Ulyanov moves on to the project № 5 «Environment». After all, that’s he who’s the ideological driving force of one of the most interesting exhibition spaces of Saint-Petersburg — Modernariat gallery. Anna Kozhara tells about, including into her speech numerous quotations from conversations with Paul: «The main exhibition space Modernariat involves three rooms, where the gallery creators have tried to maximally preserve the features of an apartment as an architectural object with history, and at the same time use minimal decoration. Walls and parquet floors were cleaned, stucco mouldings on the ceiling and a massive oven — the heritage of the tenants’ house of 1912 — were preserved. This resulted in a laconic, lively background, conveying a dual function. First, he feels more like a living space than the standard exhibition format «white cube», but it does not pull your attention away from the display. Secondly, this is how tthe creators of the gallery show visitors the opportunity to create a spectacular interior with minimal investment in finishing facilities».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_032

    Further on, the text by Olga Bezruchko presents The Seventh installation by Federico Diaz. This is an entire room-corridor and illustrates the favorite subject of the designer — disorientation in space and sound effects. Along the walls of the room made of noise absorbing material, 63 speakers, numerous sensor monitors and three doorways equipped with cameras are introduced. While proceeding through the installation, a visitor is accompanied with the sound that is first mixed, and then is distinctly divided into seven sound fields, replacing each other during the movement.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_035

    And in the end of the Project №5 «Environment» there’s a publication of universal Konstantin Kotov, who both very nicely photographed «Monsieur Paul» and wrote a lively text about it: «I met Monsieur Paul in Strasbourg, where I’d come on not a very interesting business connected with the Council of Europe. The street version of the object made of steel turned my walk on the upper terrace of the building of the European Parliament into something amazing. Chairs, organized sometimes orderly, sometimes chaotically, illustrated the busy everyday life. I immediately had a feeling that people had been cut out of the landscape at once — they even hadn’t finished their wine

    projector_2(15)_spreads_036

    Project № 7 «Photography» presents a series of works by Vitaly Smirnov. Here’s what the author writes about his project: «I have seen these houses out of the train or car windowmany times -randomly scattered over the fields, perched on the hillsides, they are always rushed past quickly, but remained in the memory for long. I was thinking about what had motivated these anonymous authors of folk architecture, the creators of these houses — both unique and similar to each other. An unexpected and, in fact, a rare opportunity to express yourself in creative work of building a house-out-of-nothing on your tiny piece of land, the house not for yourself but for garden tools, unexpectedly allowed the construction, utilitarian in its idea, to acquire the features of a peculiar house grapheme, if it’s appropriate to apply a font term to an architectural structure — a triangle of the roof, a square of the wall, a window, a door. What is missing is the pipe with painted smoke curves.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_039
    projector_2(15)_spreads_040

    The project №8 «School» congratulates a wonderful educational project — Children’s Design Center with its the twenty-fifth anniversary. This is a unique educational program, which started in the Palace of the Pioneers in the late eighties, when the word «design» sounded in a romantic foreign way and hadn’t been yet not devalued by thousands of media repetitions. And the combination of the names «Palace of the Pioneers» and «Design Center» was one of the signs of dramatic changes.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_044

    Project № 9 «Books» is traditionally filled with a large number of publications. It opens with an article by Mikhail Karasik Sacred typography, dedicated to the typographic illustrations in the Soviet book of the 1930s: «In 1920-1930s, iconic images of the leaders were created not only of feather, but also cereal, flowers, yarn, threads, veneer and even typesetting. Portraiture captured the broad masses of the working people the Soviet Union, from amateurs to professionals. Those years, gardening became the most massive and popular initiative. The portraits of Lenin, Stalin, Dzerzhinsky, Gorky were laid out in flowers on the hills and lawns of parks, on the grass of squares. Park authorities demanded ideological content from the decorators: «No unprincipled lawns!». In the printing industry, which directly addressed the cases of propaganda, ideology was include into every printed».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_048

    Projector continues its historical research in the field of Russian design periodicals of the past twenty years. This issue presents an interview with the creators and imasterminds of «World of Design» magazine — Eugeny Spiridonov and Alexander Linz. By the standards of design periodicals, «World of Design» existed for a long time. The pilot issue came out in 1995, and the last one was published in early 2001. Over five years of existence, 18 issues, celebrity editorial board, well-deserved prestige and, alas, the magazine is almost completely forgotten today.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_052

    And, of course, Projector could not ignore the magazine, which has been published for over a year bythe contemporary Loft Hostel. This is Saint-Petersburg guide, drawn by Nastya Beltyukova. «Nastya Beltyukova’s graphics, lively and light, in combination with the scanned artefacts of Saint-Petersburg culture life, such as the tickets to Film House or the Railrway Transport Museum, creates an amazingly accurate and attractive image of the city. Not that state Saint-Petersburg, where «your iron fence pattern» or «bridges hanging over the waters», but the city for life, walking, drinking wine, visiting strange and beautiful places, which aren’t always shown in the colorful tourist guides».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_055

    Projector № 2(15) 2011

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Уже довольно давно близкие друзья знают, что самые лучшие подарки для меня — это вещи с историей, которые уже пожили и накопили харизмы на своем веку. Есть удивительные предметы, которые со временем становятся только лучше. Наверное, это и есть показатель настоящести любой вещи. Если она красиво стареет и со временем лишь набирает энергетики, то это и есть, без сомнения, правильный дизайн.

Меня увлекают вещи с историей, я могу часами бродить по блошиным рынкам и копаться в завалах какой-нибудь лавки старьевщика, выискивая там предметы неземной притягательности. У меня есть предчувствие, что пройдет еще несколько лет, и в моем гардеробе станут преобладать вещи, чей возраст будет превосходить мой собственный. Как, например, вот эти замечательные сапоги. На внутренней стороне голенища отчетливо видно клеймо — 1943 год! Порой я обуваюсь в них, чтобы покрасоваться. А они меня старше ровно в два раза! А любимые часы, которые я ношу последние несколько месяцев, и того краше — им уже перевалило за девяносто лет.

К сожалению, сейчас лишь немногие производители закладывают в свои предметы долгий срок жизни. Большинство заинтересовано подгонять потребителя манящими новинками. Оттого и сами предметы проектируются зачастую тенденциозно, с прицелом в день сегодняшний, но наступает завтра, и то, что казалось таким модным, актуальным и свежим, отправляется на свалку. Ни производители, ни сами дизайнеры не верят в то, что их вещь сможет оставаться актуальной годы спустя.

Я за то, чтобы дизайн процарапывался в вечности, стремился в послезавтра. Быть модным сегодня — не самая благородная цель.

    Проектор № 2(15) 2011

    Вышел в свет летний «Проектор» за номером 2 (15) 2011. В новейшей истории журнала был только один случай, когда я отдавал обложку приглашенному дизайнеру: в 2010 году вышел номер с ярко-черным лицом без логотипа с прекрасным плакатом «LOVE» Владимира Чайки. В этот раз ситуация повторяется. Дизайн обложки и всех использованных в оформлении объектов принадлежит не мне, а молодому и перспективному дизайнеру — Алисе Харшак. Журнал намерен пристально следить за творческим развитием этого автора, и я уверен, ее работы еще не раз появятся на страницах нашего издания. На момент подписания номера в печать Алисе Харшак исполнилось три года и семь месяцев.

    Проект № 1. «Персонификация» открывается статьей Анны Кожары о работах Чарльза и Рэй Имзов. Cупруги Имзы — признанные классики американского дизайна. За без малого сорок лет совместной деятельности они создали несколько десятков объектов, многие из которых по праву считаются мировыми «иконами дизайна». Однако мебель — отнюдь не единственное наследие Имзов. Удивительным образом сочетая идеализм с рациональностью, они искренне стремились изменить мир, используя крайне широкий набор инструментов — дизайн, архитектуру, искусство, кинематограф, фотографию и просветительскую деятельность.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_008

    Далее интервью, без преувеличения, выдающегося португальского плакатиста Жао Мачадо. Беседовала с мэтром Ольга Северина: «Португалия — это дитя Атлантики, которое лишь в южной своей части избаловано теплым дыханием Средиземноморья. Сухой и жаркий на юге климат резко отличается от климата в центре и на севере страны, там, где я провел большую часть моей жизни. Здесь холодные зимы и дождливая осень столь же привычны, как и полуденный зной приморского лета. Одним словом, наш климат весьма схож с природными условиями большинства европейских стран, расположенных вблизи берегов Атлантики. Вы спросите, к чему столь красочное вступление? К тому, что в красках рождается цвет, а он наиболее часто становится предметом анализа, когда речь идет о моих работах».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_013

    Проект № 3. «Буквы» состоит из трех публикаций. Первая из них — продолжение «чехонинского» сериала в исполнении Алексея Домбровского: «Театральный алфавит стал последней яркой работой художника в декоративном шрифте. В начале следующего, 1928 года пятидесятилетний Сергей Чехонин выехал в командировку во Францию и на родину не возвратился. Первое время, обосновавшись в Париже, он еще поддерживал деловые отношения с советскими издателями, но продлилось это недолго».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_018

    Вторая публикация про буквы — рассказ о шрифте Кроосвейк дизайнера Роджера Тееувена, который не так давно приезжал в Москву и Питер с рассказами о своих работах. При создании шрифта для оформления фасада авторы задумались о многомерности социальной связи. Любое взаимодействие может быть освещено с разных точек зрения — со стороны «я», со стороны «ты», со стороны «все остальные». Эти три точки зрения, три социальные позиции были интерпретированы посредством графического языка. Получилось, что каждая грань шрифта существует в своей плоскости, при этом будучи неотъемлемой частью более сложной, многомерной структуры.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_022

    И третья публикация Проекта «Буквы» называется просто: «1926». «Первое постреволюционное десятилетие Советской России подходит к концу. В разгаре эпоха НЭПа, и политико-идеологические догмы еще не настолько незыблемы, как спустя еще десятилетие, к концу тридцатых годов ХХ века. Двадцатые — время эксперимента и творческого поиска не только для дизайнеров и архитекторов. Удивительно, как время отпечатывает себя в самых малых проявлениях материально-текстовой культуры». Герой публикации — маленькая книжечка-календарь нэпманской газеты «Торгово-промышленный курьер».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_025

    Проект № 4 «Предмет» мне посчастливилось открыть интервью Ээро Аарнио. Приезд в Россию звезд такой величины, как Аарнио, — большая редкость. Дизайнеров, чье имя навсегда вписано в историю дизайна ХХ века, среди ныне живущих, к сожалению,

    уже не так много. Тем удивительнее факт приезда мэтра Аарнио в Санкт-Петербург. Предлагаю вашему вниманию единственное интервью, которое дал Ээро Аарнио за время своего визита. «Я все делаю один. Я совсем не понимаю, как можно нанять другого дизайнера. У меня не получается. Что мне с ним делать? Дать ему карандаш и сказать: «Нарисуй мне кресло — мировой бестселлер»?! И что будет? По той же причине я не беру никаких практикантов и никогда не преподавал. Хотя, конечно, я все время получаю множество запросов от молодых дизайнеров, которые хотят со мной поработать».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_027

    Проект № 4 продолжается рассказом Павла Ульянова об одном из шедевров дизайна ХХ века — кресле Z-Down: «Для меня шедевром дизайна является объект, в котором равновесно присутствуют три составляющие: функция, эстетика и технология. Ущербная функция приводит к невозможности употребления предмета. Ущербная эстетика лишает предмет эмоциональной нагрузки и не несет радости взаимодействия с ним. Ущербная технология исключает серийность, а значит, доступность. Один из предметов, которые, на мой взгляд, отвечают всем критериям оценки дизайнерского шедевра, является кресло Z-down датского дизайнера Эрика Магнуссена (Erik Magnussen) Автор спроектировал его еще в 1968 году».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_030

    Очень легко и естественно Павел Ульянов перепрыгивает и в следующий проект № 5 «Среда». Ведь именно он является идейным движителем одного из наиболее интересных выставочных пространств Петербурга — галереи Модернариат. О ней с многочисленными цитатами из разговоров с Павлом рассказывает Анна Кожара: «Основное выставочное пространство «Модернариат» образовано тремя комнатами, в которых создатели галереи постарались максимально сохранить особенности квартиры как архитектурного объекта с историей и при этом использовать минимум отделки. Стены и паркет почистили, сохранили лепнину на потолке и массивные печи — наследие доходного дома 1912 года. В итоге получился лаконичный, но живой фон, выполняющий двойную функцию. Во-первых, по ощущениям он более близок жилому пространству, нежели стандартный выставочный формат «white cube», но при этом не перетягивает внимание от экспозиции на себя. Во-вторых, таким образом создатели галереи демонстрируют посетителям возможность создания эффектного интерьера при минимальных вложениях в отделку помещения».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_032

    Далее, в тексте Ольги Безручко представлена «Седьмая инсталляция» Федерико Диаза. Она представляет собой целую комнату-коридор и открывает излюбленную тему дизайнера — дезориентации в пространстве и звуковых эффектах. Вдоль стен комнаты из шумопоглощающего материала внедрены 63 колонки, датчики слежения за перемещением и три дверных проема, оснащенные фотоэлементами. Во время прохождения инсталляции участника сопровождает звук, который сначала смешивается, а потом отчетливо разделяется на семь звуковых полей, сменяющих друг друга на протяжении движения.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_035

    И в завершение Проекта № 5 «Среда» публикация универсального Константина Котова, который и прекрасно сфотографировал «мсье Поля» и живейший текст о нем написал: «Моя встреча с мсье Полем произошла в Страсбурге, куда меня привело одно не слишком интересное дело, связанное с Советом Европы. Стальной уличный вариант этого объекта сделал мою прогулку по верхним террасам здания Европарламента такой удивительной. Кресла, составленные то упорядоченно, то хаотично, рисовали картину оживленных будней. Складывалось ощущение, что людей единомоментно изъяли из пейзажа — даже вино не дали допить!»

    projector_2(15)_spreads_036

    Проект № 7 «Фотографирование» представляет серию работ Виталия Смирнова. Вот что пишет автор о своем проекте: «Множество раз я наблюдал эти домики из окна электрички или автомобиля — беспорядочно разбросанные по полям, примостившиеся на склонах холмов, они всегда проносились мимо быстро, но оставались в памяти надол-го. Я размышлял о том, что двигало этими безымянными авторами народной архитектуры, создателями этих домиков — неповторимых и одновременно похожих друг на друга. Неожиданная и, по сути, редчайшая возможность проявить себя в творчестве — построить дом-из-ничего на своем крохотном участке земли, дом не для себя, нет, дом для садового инвентаря, неожиданно позволила утилитарному в своей основе сооружению приобрести черты своеобразной графемы дома, если уместно применять шрифтовой термин к архитектурному сооружению, — треугольник крыши, квадратик стены, окно, дверь. Не хватает только трубы с нарисованными кольцами дыма».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_039
    projector_2(15)_spreads_040

    В проекте № 8 «Школа» мы поздравляем с двадцатипятилетием замечательный образовательный проект — «Детский Дизайн Центр». Это уникальная образовательная программа, стартовавшая во Дворце пионеров в конце восьмидесятых, когда само слово «дизайн» было овеяно романтикой заграничного звучания и еще не девальвировано многотысячными медийными повторениями. Да и сочетание названий «Дворец пионеров» и «Дизайн-центр» было одним из признаков разительных перемен.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_044

    Проект № 9 «Книги» традиционно наполнен большим количеством публикаций. Его открывает статья Михаила Карасика «Сакральная типографика», посвященная типографическим иллюстрациям в советской книге тридцатых годов ХХ века: «В 1920—1930-е годы иконы вождей создавались не только из перьев, но и из злаков, цветов, пряжи, ниток, шпона и даже типографского набора. Портретное искусство захватило широкие массы трудящихся Страны Советов, от любителей до профессионалов. Самым массовым и популярным в те годы стало садово-парковое искусство. Портреты Ленина, Сталина, Дзержинского, Горького выкладывали из цветов на горках и лужайках парков, на газонах площадей. Парковики требовали идейного содержания от декораторов: «Нет безыдейным газонам!». В полиграфии, непосредственно решавшей задачи пропаганды, идейность была заложена в каждом печатном слове, но вот чтобы набрать из тех же знаков, что и текст, потрет автора, требовалось особое мастерство».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_048

    «Проектор» продолжает исторические исследования в сфере российской дизайнерской периодики последних двадцати лет. В этом номере интервью с создателями и идейными вдожновителями журнала «Мир дизайна» — Евгением Спиридоновым и Александром Линецким. «Мир дизайна» просуществовал довольно долго по меркам дизайнерской периодики. Пилот увидел свет в 1995 году, а последний номер вышел в начале 2001 года. Больше пяти лет существования, 18 выпущенных номеров, звездная редакция, заслуженный авторитет и, увы, почти полное забвение сегодня.

    projector_2(15)_spreads_052

    И, конечно, «Проектор» не мог пройти мимо издания, которое вот уже второй год подряд выпускает продвинутый Loft Hostel. Это гид по Петербургу, который рисует Настя Бельтюкова. «Графика Насти Бельтюковой, живая и легкая, в сочетании с отсканированными артефактами петербургской культурной жизни, вроде билетов в Дом кино или в Музей железнодорожного транспорта, создает удивительно точный и притягательный образ города. Не того парадного Санкт-Петербурга, в котором «твоих оград узор чугунный» или «мосты повисли над водами», а города для жизни, прогулок, выпивания вина, посещения странных и прекрасных мест, не всегда попадающих в туристические красочные путеводители».

    projector_2(15)_spreads_055

    Проектор № 2(15) 2011

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.