Editor’s column

The Netherlands was the first country I saw outside the Soviet Union. It was 1991. More exactly, 19 August 1991. That day we were on the way to the airport and did not know whether they’d let the plane go or not. On the nineteenth no one knew anything. The Dutch greeted us pasty faced and asked if did want to think seriously a political asylum. But 21 August the broadcast of Swan Lake was over, and after a week we returned from Holland to quite a different country. Everyne who traveled to prosperous Western Europe from Russia in the early nineties (and if it was also their first trip abroad!) will understand me — it was like a trip to another planet. That’s Holland that become my first traveling experience, the first love remembered over the lifetime. Since then, I’ve been to the Netherlands a lot, but each time I discover this wonderful country again with enthusiasm and delight.

In my professional environment, there’s been a view for a long time that Holland is the most design country in the world. And my latest trip to Eindhoven to the Dutch Design Week (www.ddw.nl) has only strengthened my sincere conviction of that. I believe it’s Dutch design that has managed to become a national priority, not only in the industry, which is absolutely natural, not only at the state level (which also occurs in developed countries, but not that often), but also in the society regardless of the guild (and this is rare!) Holland is the country of the winning design. The undisputed fact.

However, I love Holland not only for extremely high professional level and the deepest penetration of high-quality design into the everyday life of this country. Holland has always pleased me with its humanity. I do not know how to explain bestwhat I mean by this word. This isprobably a purely personal feeling of comfort, joy, friendship, proportionality of country towards the people, not only in physical dimensions, but also within the relationship «person-state». I can see how the Dutch love their country, appreciate it, cherish it and care about it. And such an attitude is impossible to be implanted by any orders from above or a the lesson of patriotic education at school. I envy Holland that it has such Dutchmen!

And I still haven’t mentioned orange color. Maybe the Dutch owe their optimism and creative energy particularly to this national color identifier.

The special issue of Projector, dedicated to to Dutch design, is my personal declaration of love to this magic country!



    Projector № 1(14) 2011

    The new long-awaited issue, from cover to cover devoted to Dutch design, has come out. It would not have been assembled without the grant of the General Consulate of the Netherlands.

    The magazine opens with its traditional historical publication. Of course, it’s devoted to the most well-regarded Dutch designer Gerrit Rietveld. However, we illustrated the article in an unexpected way. Everybody knows what the objects by Rietveld look like. Therefore, the magazine editors considered it possible not to use photographs at all. Instead of those, Alexey Boyko’s text is accompanied with trenchant, dynamic graphics by the famous Saint-Petersburg designer Dmitry Blank. By the way, the Blanks are known among the designers as veteran «wearers» of corporate orange color, so who if not they would have taken active part in the design of the Dutch issue!

    projector_n14_001
    projector_n14_002

    «The name of Piet Hein Eek has been resounding not only in the Netherlands but also far beyond its borders in recent years. Mitya Kharshak has interviewed the hero of Dutch Design Week. Here is what he writes in the introduction to their conversation: «Piet Hein Eek designs objects of unthinkable masculine power. For me, not only is his cabinet or a chair -a «he», but also a bed or a cup. Even a chair, which is linguistically neutral, becomes a «he» by Piet! If you can try to imagine a male personification of design, it is an object by Piet Hein Eek, regardless of size, purpose or material».

    projector_n14_003
    projector_n14_004

    For the project №3 «Lettering» our constant witer and the member of the editorial board Vladimir Yefimov and Anna Shmieleva have taken a rare historical journey into the XVIII century Netherlands. Their article presents two bright figures of typography design of the time: «Michael Fleishman and Jacques-François Rozart are the names associated with the development and flourishing of Dutch text in the XVIII century. Despite its stable distribution and success, and perhaps because of this, the period after 1700 can be considered the time of stagnation, if not of incipient decline. Most typefounders were exploiting their old punches and dies this period, and almost no one created a new font. Thomas James, an Englishman who came to the Netherlands in 1710 for the fonts, wrote: «… It’s hardly possible to find an honest man: they all live buying and selling …».

    projector_n14_005

    The continuation of the letters’ subject could very well migrate to the section of object design, as the work ABCHAIRS by Ruhland Otten is the case at the junction of two genres — type and furniture design. «Of course, the inexpressible lightness of being is felt when trying on the process of the invention of the chair out of the lowercase «h», where the very essence of grapheme is a character with the legs and back. Or, for example, out of the capital «A», which has a horizontal junction stroke in the middle — isn’t it a chair with a triangular back and widely spaced resilient legs?! But what about, say, the capital «L» (or worse — the lowercase «l»)? Where’s its waist?» Text by Mitya Karshak.

    projector_n14_006
    projector_n14_007

    The project №4 «Subject» has turned out to be most abundant in publications. The editorial board is especially proud of the publication, devoted to one of the most famous objects by Gerrit Rietveld — the red and blue chair: not exactly to the original one, but the later dedications to it and its design modifications. Many modern writers have paid tribute to the master and his famous object. The publication presents the red-blue chairs: by Lego; of small round logs; fitted into a cocoon; and made on a drawing with the left hand. The armchair, invented by Rietveld in 1917, still encourages contemporary designers for new achievements.

    projector_n14_008

    The only non-Dutch publication here is the article about Diagonal — a witty modern furniture object by the Stockholm studio o4i. However, this publication had been planned by us and the company Martela a long time before, so we decided not to interrupt the series of the articles.

    projector_n14_009

    The following article is about the brightest (literally) objects Mitya Kharshak spotted at the exhibition Liberation of light in the Dutch capital of design, the city of Eindhoven. Lamps made of dandelions, tomatoes as a power source, a still shining broken light bulb, and a birdhouse powered by solar batteries — this is not the list of «impossible» objects, these are all real exhibits of the display and publication Freedom of Light.

    projector_n14_010

    Ten recipies of color by Hella Jongerius continue the series of publications coming out with the support of Vitra. The text and the picture are also both made by Hella.

    projector_n14_011

    Project №5 «Environment» opens with an incredibly beautiful article about the Dutch pavilion at the World Expo in Shanghai. The architect, who came up with the idea of Happy Street, floating in the air, has e-mailed the editorial board with his first sketches and photographs of the finished pavilion. Extremely valuable valuable material!

    projector_n14_012
    projector_n14_013

    The dynamic object of environmental design Slug by Jurgen Bey is a materialized philosophical treatise, rather than an item of customary transport and / or environmental design. «It’s either a box office or a traveling puppet pavilion stage with the only puppeteer behind the curtain, or some constructivist reincarnation of a folkloric hut on chicken legs — now on wheels and with an electric motor. The concept of a private mobile space, invented by Jurgen Bey, — Slow car. Environmentally friendly slug in the cities of the future, the retarder of the frantic pace of life. Text by Mitya Kharshak and Karin Long.

    projector_n14_014

    Project № 7 «Photography» tells the story of the Dutchman Jan Adriaanse. After a long series about Saint-Petersburg photographers, taking black and white (but less beautiful!) pictures, Adriaanse explodes the pages with color. Juicy, powerful and, at last, color photos in the Projector.

    projector_n14_015
    projector_n14_016

    Project № 8 «School» is a story in the first person. Irina Smirnova graduated from Type & media course. Especially for the Dutch issue of Projector, she happily remembered her student days: «You do not play!» — this was the most serious accusation, and the biggest mistake you could make while studying there».

    projector_n14_017

    The project № 9 «Books» has two wonderful publications. The first one is written by the well-known book collectors and historians — Serge-Alyosha Stommelsom and Albert Lemmens. They show the unique materials from their extensive collection — Nieuw Rusland («New Russia») magazine. Surprisingly, it’s dedicated to the culture and art of the new Soviet state would come out in the Netherlands at the time when all diplomatic relations between our countries had been cancelled! In the late 1920s — early 1930s, this magazine had a relationship with most significant figures of design, fine art and photography of the Netherlands at the time, including, by the way, the main hero of the issue Gerrit Rietveld.

    projector_n14_018

    In the second publication, the friend of Projector, famous Dutch designer Hans Gremmen presents his book «Fake flowers in full color». I think that the author didn’t realize that in Russian language «flowers» and «color» give much more freedom of verbal juggling than the English version of these words.

    projector_n14_019

    Projector № 1(14) 2011

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Голландия была первой страной, которую я увидел за пределами Советского Союза. Это был 1991 год. Если точнее, 19 августа 1991 года. Мы тогда ехали в аэропорт и не знали, выпустят самолет или нет. Девятнадцатого еще никто ничего не понимал. А голландцы встречали нас с бледными лицами и спрашивали, не хотим ли мы всерьез подумать о политическом убежище. Но 21 августа трансляции «Лебединого озера» закончились, и через неделю мы вернулись из Голландии уже совсем в другую страну. Кто попадал в благополучную Западную Европу из России самого начала девяностых (а если это была еще и первая поездка за границу!), поймут меня — это было сродни путешествию на другую планету. Именно Голландия стала для меня первым опытом путешествия, первой и на всю жизнь хранимой любовью. С тех пор я много раз бывал в Нидерландах, но каждый раз с восторгом и восхищением, каждый раз отчасти по-новому открываю для себя эту замечательную страну.

В профессиональной среде моих коллег уже давно укрепилось мнение, что именно Голландия является самой дизайнерской страной в мире. И моя последняя поездка в Эйндховен на Голландскую неделю дизайна (Dutch design week, www.ddw.nl) только укрепила и мою в том искреннюю убежденность. Я считаю, что именно в Голландии дизайну удалось стать одним из национальных приоритетов не только в индустрии (что абсолютно естественно), не только на государственном уровне (что также встречается в продвинутых странах, но все ж не так часто), но и в самом обществе, вне зависимости от цеховой принадлежности (а это уже редкость!) Голландия — страна победившего дизайна. Бесспорный факт.

Но не только запредельными профессиональными высотами и глубочайшим проникновением качественного дизайна в повседневную жизнь мне мила эта страна. Голландия всегда радовала меня своей человечностью. Даже не знаю, как лучше объяснить то, что я вкладываю в это слово. Наверное, это сугубо личные ощущения комфорта, радости, дружелюбия, сомасштабности страны человеку не только в физических измерениях, но и во взаимоотношениях системы «человек—государство». Я вижу, как голландцы любят свою страну, ценят ее, берегут ее и заботятся о ней. И такое отношение к своей стране невозможно внушить никаким приказом сверху или уроком патриотического воспитания в школе. Завидую Голландии, что у нее такие голландцы!

А про оранжевый цвет я уж и не говорю. Может быть, именно ему — национальному цветовому идентификатору — голландцы обязаны своим оптимизмом и созидательной энергией.

Специальный номер «Проектора», посвященный голландскому дизайну, — мое личное объяснение в любви этой волшебной стране!

    Проектор № 1(14) 2011

    Вышел в свет долгожданный номер «Проектора», от корки до корки посвященный голландскому дизайну. Он бы не состоялся, если бы не грант Генерального консульства Королевства Нидерландов.

    Журнал открывается традиционной исторической публикацией. Естественно, она посвящена самому почитаемому голландскому дизайнеру Герриту Ритвельду. Правда, проиллюстрировали мы ее несколько неожиданно. Внешний вид объектов Ритвельда всем известен. Поэтому журнал редакция посчитала возможным вовсе не использовать фотографические изображения. А вместо них текст Алексея Бойко сопровождает хлесткая, динамичная графика известного петербургского дизайнера Дмитрия Бланка. Кстати, семейство Бланков известно в дизайнерской тусовке, как многолетние носители оранжевого фирменного цвета. Кому же, как не им принимать деятельное участие в создании голландского номера!

    projector_n14_001
    projector_n14_002

    Имя Пита Хейна Эйка последние годы громко звучит не только в самой Голландии, но и далеко за ее пределами. Митя Харшак взял интервью у героя Dutch Design Week. Вот что он пишет во вступлении к разговору с Питом: «Пит Хейн Эйк (Piet Hein Eek) делает вещи немыслимой маскулинной силы. Для меня не только его шкаф или стул — «он». Но и кровать, и чашка — тоже «он». И даже лингвистически нейтральное кресло в исполнении Пита тоже обретает мужской род! Если можно попытаться представить себе олицетворение мужского дизайна, то это объекты Пита Хейна Эйка, вне зависимости от масштаба, предназначения или материала».

    projector_n14_003
    projector_n14_004

    Для Проекта № 3 «Буквы» постоянный автор и член редакционного совета «Проектора» Владимир Ефимов совместно с Анной Шмелевой совершили редкий исторический экскурс в Нидерланды XVIII века. В их публикации представлены две яркие фигуры шрифтового дизайна того времени: «Михаэль Флейшман и Жак-Франсуа Розарт — имена, с которыми связаны развитие и расцвет голландского шрифта в XVIII веке. Несмотря на его стабильное распространение и успех, а возможно, и благодаря этому, период после 1700 года можно считать временем застоя, если не наметившегося упадка. Большинство словолитчиков в этот период эксплуатировали свои старые пуансоны и матрицы, и почти никто не создавал новых шрифтов. Томас Джеймс, англичанин, приехавший за шрифтами в Голландию в 1710 году, писал: «…там с трудом можно найти честного человека: они все живут куплей и продажей…».

    projector_n14_005

    Продолжение темы букв вполне могло бы перекочевать и в раздел, посвященный предметному дизайну. Потому как проект «ABCHAIRS» Руланда Оттена представляет собой историю на стыке двух жанров — дизайна шрифта и дизайна мебели. «Конечно, невыразимаая легкость бытия ощущается, когда примеряешь на себя процесс изобретения стула из строчной «h», где сама графема суть пиктограмма сиденья с ножками и спинкой. Или, например, из прописной «А», обладающей горизонтальным соединительным штрихом посередке — чем не стул с треугольной спинкой и широко расставленными устойчивыми ногами?! Но как быть, скажите, с прописной «L» (или, того хуже — со строчной «l»)? Там-то где талию делать будем?» Текст Мити Харшака.

    projector_n14_006
    projector_n14_007

    Самым насыщенным публикациям получился Проект № 4 «Предмет». Особой гордостью редакции стала публикация, посвященная одному из самых известных объектов Геррита Ритвельда — красно-синему креслу. Но не ему одному в оригинальном воплощении, а в его позднейшим посвящениям и дизайнерским перепевкам. Немало современных авторов отдали дань уважения Мастеру и его знаменитому объекту. В публикации представлены «красно-синие кресла»: из конструктора Лего, из круглых бревнышек, обтянутое коконом и исполненное в материале по рисунку, сделанному левой рукой. Кресло, придуманное Ритвельдом в 1917 году продолжает вдожновлять современных дизайнеров на новые достижения.

    projector_n14_008

    Единственной неголландской публикацией номера стала статья про Diagonal — современный остроумный мебельный объект стокгольмской студии o4i. Но эта публикация была давно запланирована нами в сотрудничестве с компанией Martela, и прерывать серию публикаций мы не стали.

    projector_n14_009

    Следующая статья представляет наиболее яркие (в прямом смысле слова) объекты, подсмотренные Митей Харшаком на выставке Liberation of light в голландской столице дизайна, городе Эйндховене. Светильники из одуванчиков, помидоры в роли источников питания, разбитая лампочка, которая все же светит и скворечник на солнечных батареях — это не перечень «невозможных» объектов, а вполне реальные экспонаты выставки и публикации «Свобода света».

    projector_n14_010

    Десять рецептов цвета Хеллы Йонгериус продолжают серию публикаций, выходящих при поддержке компании Vitra. И текст и картинка — все сделала Хелла.

    projector_n14_011

    Проект № 5 «Среда» открывается невозможно прекрасной публикацией про голландский павильон на Шанхайской всемирной выставке. Архитектор, который придумал парящую в воздухе «улицу-восьмерку» прислал в редакцию и свои первые эскизы и фотографии готового павильона. Ценнейший материал!

    projector_n14_012
    projector_n14_013

    А движущийся средовой объект Юргена Бея «Тихоход» и вовсе, скорее, материализовавшийся философский трактат, нежели предмет привычного транспортного и/или средового дизайна. «То ли будка билетера, то ли передвижная сцена ярмарочного кукольного театра с единственным кукловодом за кулисами, то ли конструктивистская реинкарнация фольклорной избушки на курьих ножках — теперь на колесиках и с электроприводом. Концепт приватного передвижного пространства, придуманный Юргеном Беем (Jurgen Bey), — Slow car. Экологически чистый тихоход городов будущего, замедлитель бешеного темпа жизни». Текст Митя Харшак и Кайрен Лонг.

    projector_n14_014

    Проект № 7 «Фотографирование» рассказывает о голландском фотографе Яне Адриаансе. После затянувшейся серии черно-белых (оттого не менее прекрасных!) петербургских фотографов, Адриаанс взрывает полосы цветом. Сочно, мощно и, наконец-то, цветные фотографии в «Проекторе».

    projector_n14_015
    projector_n14_016

    Проект № 8 «Школа» — рассказ от первого лица. Ирина Смирнова сама окончила курс Type & media. Она с удовольствием вспомнила свои студенческие годы специально для голландского номера «Проектора»: ««Вы не играете!» — это был самый серьезный упрек и самая большая ошибка, которую можно совершить на курсе».

    projector_n14_017

    В проекте № 9 «Книги» две замечательных публикации. Первая написана известными собирателями и историками книги Сержем-Алешей Стоммельсом и Альбертом Лемменсом. Они показывают уникальные материалы из своей обширной коллекции — журнал Nieuw Rusland («Новая Россия»). Удивительно, но журнал, посвященный культуре и искусству нового Советского государства выходил в Нидерландах в то время, когда между нашими странами были прерваны все дипломатические отношения! В конце двадцатых – начале тридцатых годов ХХ века к этому журналу имели отношения самые крупные фигуры дизайна, фотографии и изобразительного искусства Голландии того времени, включая, кстати, и главного героя номера Геррита Ритвельда.

    projector_n14_018

    Во второй публикации раздела друг «Проектора», известный голландский дизайнер Ханс Греммен представляет свою книгу Fake flowers in full color. Думаю, что автор и не догадывался, что в русском языке «цветы» и «цвета» дают куда большую свободу словесному жонглированию, чем в английском варианте названия.

    projector_n14_019

    Проектор № 1(14) 2011

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.