Editor’s column

We’ve removed the logo from the cover, but anyway have to announce the content somehow. Therefore, I have the opportunity to stay in the literal sense of «carrier» of information — why don’t I print the headline on my own t-shirt? The magazine has turned to the second ten. Issues, not years old.

But sometimes I find myself thinking that Projector comes out too often. We do not have time to properly recover from the previous issue, when we realize next one is due. Sometimes you want to stay in the role of a cabinet reclusive scientist, a true book worm, having converted the relationship with time into a completely different category — unhurried, deeply academic lifestyle. What a fuss in the face of eternity?! If dreaming, it would be, of course, a magical pastime to sit down for a couple of months in the library, looking through sources, bury yourself among original documents and prepare in the end a serious article, aimed at ten (I’ll be brave — two dozens!) readers. Please don’t think I consider my magazine journalism a frivolous pastime. It’s also a job. A good job, broad one (read — shallow), superficial.

But dreams remain dreams. And I don’t want to completely give up the idea that someday I will be able to rebuild the relationship with time, do not watch the clock and start being «deeper», but not rushing like mad back and forth across the surface.



    Projector № 2(11) 2010

    The new issue with a heavenly bright black cover has ben published! Only this time Projector has let itself give the cover to the protagonist of the edition. But we don’t call him by name - everybody hip will recognize him at once.

    The magazine opens with its traditional historical publication about the hero of the twentieth century, Verner Panton, who headed the designer plastic revolution of the sixties and then throughout his life remained one of the most radical innovators in the field of object and interior design. Looking at his crazy colors, op-art ornaments and futuristic shapes, we can suppose Panton was not averse to mind-expanding drugs. But it’s all fantasy for the tabloids. In fact, Panton was one of the few designers of the twentieth century, who until last years of his life remained youthfully enthusiastic and preserved the freshness of perception and the incredible lightness of being. Anna Kozhara writes about Verner Panton. And the magazine thanks the company Vitra for their help in preparing this publication.

    panton_1
    panton_2

    Next — our protagonist. «He is here». We don’t addres him, but everybody knows who he is.

    he_is_here

    The traditional author’s project by Olga and Alexander Florensky this time presents Skeletons are different — to your arrention.

    skelettons

    Project №3 «Lettering» begins with the publication of a new historical series. Alexey Dombrovsky explores the legacy of Sergei Chekhonine. The first article thoroughly considers the three covers of his graphics albums: Chekhonin, Tschechonin, S. Chekhonin — three languages, three graphic solutions. In addition, there are many more magical font works of the artist, reproduced with the help of his lifetime editions.

    tschechonine

    Next, a Saint-Petersburg gallery owner and collector Vitaly Tretyakov presents font cards of early twentieth century from his extensive collection. Quoting the founders of lettrism Eugene Ionesco and Isidore Izu, Tretyakov gives compelling and touching proof of the thesis that a letter is «a unit of poetry and beauty».

    postcards

    Project № 4 «Subject» opens the publication by senior editor Mitya Kharshak about the collection of «traffic light men» and Berlin design project Ampelmann.

    ampelmann_1
    ampelmann_2

    To continue, there’s the traditional story of the outstanding twentieth-century design objects from the collection of Vitra factory. This time it’s the chair La Chaise by Ray and Charles Eames. Nina Filyuta tells about it.

    la_chaise

    She has also written the following text about the mysterious object of environmental design by Boremir Bakharev. His works have already been published in one of the previous issues of the magazine. This time Bob presents a black transformer that can take many forms, depending on which function you want it to have. A black box full of essence.

    black_box

    The project «Photography» presents the works and magic tools of the photographer Alexey Alekseev. He is one of the movers of the revival ofrare photographic techniques and the re-discoverer of the wet-collodion printing method. He’s a scrupulous collector and restorer of unique optical and photographic equipment of the century before last, he transforms the whole photo process from shooting to making the image into a magic mystery. By the way, both the author of the photos — Alexey Alekseev, and the author of the text — Anna Kozhara- are depicted in the portraits published in the magazine.

    alexeev_1
    alexeev_2
    alexeev_3

    Project № 8 «School» presents the works by the students of Konstantin Startsev. Now Saint-Petersburg doesn’t have a more active and really live department of graphics than the one of Startsev. At any exhibition, where student graphic design is shown, the works by his students are always the most vibrant, creative and somehow otherworldly professional and free. Next issues will undoubtedly continue showing the works by Startsev’s student. There is something to see!

    startsev_1

    In the project №9 «Books» our constant author, polymath and expert on book history Mikhail Karasik shows a rare formation of books of the 1910s — books on wallpaper! This is something completely unimaginable.

    wallpapers

    Also, Projector is diving deeper and deeper into the recent history of Russian design periodicals. The member of our editorial board Sergei Serov recalls how in the early nineties there was, and then closed the design magazine Greatis. Five issues, five heavenly beautiful covers by Vladimir Chaika.

    greatis

    Projector № 2(11) 2010

    Read the full e-version on issuu.com

Слово редактора

Убрали логотип с обложки, но анонсировать содержание как-то все-таки надо. Поэтому мне представилась возможность побыть в прямом смысле «носителем» информации — отчего бы не напечатать шапку журнала на собственной футболке? Журналу пошел второй десяток. Пока номеров. Не лет.

Но порой я ловлю себя на мысли, что журнал выходит как-то слишком часто. Не успели толком прийти в себя от предыдущего, как уже и следующий на подходе. Иногда хочется побыть в ипостаси настоящего кабинетного ученого-затворника, истинного книжного червя, переведя взаимоотношения со временем в совершенно иную категорию — неспешного, глубокого академического расклада. Что за суета пред лицом вечности?! Если пофантазировать, то было бы, конечно, волшебным времяпрепровождением засесть на пару-тройку месяцев в библиотеке, перепальцевать источники, уткнуться в оригиналы и подготовить в конце концов одну серьезную статью, нацеленную на десяток (будем смелыми — на два десятка!) читателей. Не подумайте, будто я считаю свою журнальную публицистику занятием несерьезным. Тоже в общем дело. Хорошее дело — широкое (читай — неглубокое), поверхностное.

Но мечты остаются мечтами. И я не хочу окончательно расставаться с мыслью, что когда-нибудь я смогу перестроить взаимоотношения со временем, не наблюдать часов, занырнуть вглубь, а не носиться как угорелый взад-вперед по поверхности.

    Проектор № 2(11) 2010

    Вышел номер с неземной ярко-черной обложкой! Лишь в этот раз «Проектор» позволил себе отдать обложку главному герою номера. Но имя его не называем — кто в теме, тот и так сразу узнает.

    Открывается журнал традиционной исторической публикацией о героее ХХ века Вернере Пантоне. Этот дизайнер возглавил пластмассовую революцию шестидесятых и далее в течение всей своей жизни оставался одним из наиболее радикальных новаторов в сфере предметного дизайна и интерьера. По безумным цветовым решениям, оп-артистским орнаментам и футуристическим формам можно домыслить, что Пантон не брезговал расширяющими сознание препаратами. Но это все фантазии для желтой прессы. На самом деле Пантон был одним из немногих дизайнеров ХХ века, кто до последних лет жизни сохранял юношеский задор, свежесть восприятия и невероятную легкость бытия. О Вернере Пантоне пишет Анна Кожара. А журнал благодарит компанию «Витра» за помощь в подготовке публикации.

    panton_1
    panton_2

    Далее — наш герой. «He is here». Имя его не называют, но оно всем известно.

    he_is_here

    В традиционном авторском проекте Ольги и Александра Флоренских «Скелеты разные» — прошу любить и жаловать.

    skelettons

    Проект № 3 «Буквы» начинает публикацию нового исторического сериала. Алексей Домбровский исследует наследие Сергея Чехонина. И в первой публикации цикла подробно рассматриваются разноязыкие обложки альбома чехонинской графики: «Чехонин», «Tschechonin», «S. Chekhonin» — три языка, три графических решения. Кроме этого еще много волшебных чехонинских шрифтовых работ, воспроизводимых по прижизненным изданиям художника.

    tschechonine

    Далее петербургский галерист и собиратель Виталий Третьяков представляет шрифтовые открытки начала ХХ века из своей обширной коллекции. Цитируя основоположников «летризма» Эжена Ионеско и Исидора Изу, Третьяков представляет убедительные и трогательные доказательства тезиса о том, что буква — «единица поэзии и красоты».

    postcards

    Проект № 4 «Предмет» открывается публикацией главного редактора Мити Харшака о коллекции «светофорных человечков» и берлинском дизайнерском проекте «Ampelmann».

    ampelmann_1
    ampelmann_2

    В продолжение — традиционный рассказ о выдающихся предметах дизайна ХХ века из коллекции фабрики «Витра». В этот раз главным героем стало кресло La Chaise Чарльза и Рэй Имзов. О нем пишет Нина Филюта.

    la_chaise

    Ее же авторству принадлежит и следующий текст о загадочном средовом объекте Боремира Бахарева. Его работы уже публиковались в одном из предыдущих номеров журнала. На сей раз Боб представл черный трансформер, способный принимать самые различные формы, в зависимости от вощлагаемой на него функции. Черная коробочка, полная смыслов.

    black_box

    Проект «Фотографирование» представляет работы и волшебные инструменты фотографа Алексея Алексеева. Он один из движителей возрождения редких фотографических техник и заново-первооткрыватель мокро-коллодионного метода печати. Скрупулезный собиратель и реставратор уникальной оптики и фототехники позапрошлого века, он превращает в магическое таинство весь фотопроцесс от съемки до воспроизведения снимка. Кстати, как автор фотографий — Алексей Алексеев, так и автор текста — Анна Кожара запечатлены на портретах, опубликованных в журнале.

    alexeev_1
    alexeev_2
    alexeev_3

    Проект № 8 «Школа» представляет работы учеников Константина Старцева. Сейчас в Санкт-Петербурге нет более активной и по-настоящему живой графической кафедры, чем кафедра Константина Старцева. На любой выставке, где показывают студенческий графдизайн, работы его учеников всегда самые яркие, творческие и какие-то по-нездешнему профессиональные и свободные. В следующих номерах показ работ старцевских учеников будет обязательно продолжен. Там есть на что посмотреть!

    startsev_1

    В проекте № 9 «Книги» наш постоянный автор энциклопедист и знаток истории книги Михаил Карасик показывает редкий пласт книг десятых годов ХХ века — книги на обоях! Это вообще что-то совершенно непредставимое.

    wallpapers

    Также дальше продвигается и взгляд «Проектора» в новейшую историю российской дизайнерской периодики. Член нашего редсовета Сергей Иванович Серов вспоминает о том, как в начале девяностых годов появился, а потом и закрылся дизайнерский журнал Greatis. Пять номеров, пять обложек Владимира Чайки неземной красоты.

    greatis

    Проектор № 2(11) 2010

    Полностью журнал читайте в электронной версии.