mukha_cover1

Project description

A unique publication was prepared by two authors — the designers and teachers of «Mukha» Svetlana Mirzoyan and Sergey Helmyanov. And our studio did the layout and prepared the publication for printing. This is a massive research — more than four hundred pages of unique archival materials on industrial design. In 2011, the book was included into TOP-100 of Russian design.

And that’s what the autors write about our School: «This book is the first full-bodied edition, telling the story of foundation and development of Saint- Petersburg School of Design, the school in the broadest sense of the word: an educational institution, an ideology, a tradition, and of course a community of extremely interesting people. The unique consolidation of a place, building, ideology, personality.

Th revolution, civil war, nationalization, and eventually eradication of the School. Destroyed funds, ravaged museum and two long decades of neglect. The Great Patriotic War, the siege of Leningrad, artillery shelling, and, paradoxically, the revival of school at the very moment. And all this by the people, and sometimes even at the cost of their lives.

Most of the book is based on the documents from the personal archive of I.A.Vaks — the first headmaster of the newly reconstructed school. This book is the first one to tell in detail about the history of the revival of Baron Stieglitz School at a new historical curve, the revival out of ruins both literally and in the figurative sense of the word. The book has a collection of the rarest photos and documents, based on archive materials and direct participants’ memories of the most interesting historical events».

Read more information on the issue on its website, where you can purchase it as well. Svetlana Mirzoyan and Sergey Helmyanov were guests of the live broadcast of our television program. You can watch it in tape delay.

Authors of the book: Svetlana Mirzoyan, Sergei Helmyanov.

Project developed by: Mitya Kharshak, Yaroslav Ivanov, Danila Serov

Project details

  • Заказчик

    Publisher: Artur Lazaryan, 2010—2011

  • Что делали:

    • Design
    • Print
    • Publishing


spreads_01
spreads_02
spreads_03
spreads_04
spreads_05
spreads_06
spreads_08
spreads_14
spreads_07
spreads_15
spreads_16
spreads_12
spreads_10
spreads_09

mukha_cover1

Описание проекта

Уникальное издание подготовлено двумя авторами — дизайнерами и преподавателями «Мухи» Светланой Вагаршаковной Мирзоян и Сергеем Хельмяновым. А наша студия сделала макет и подготовила издание к печати. Масштабное исследование — более четырехсот полос уникальных архивных материалов по промышленному дизайну. В 2011 году книга вошла в ТОП-100 Русского дизайна в номинации «Дизайн книги».

А вот что пишут о нашей Школе авторы: «Эта книга — первое полновесное издание, рассказывающее об истории основания и развития Санкт-Петербургской школы дизайна. Школы в самом широком понимании этого слова: как учебного заведения, как идеологии, как традиции и конечно как сообщества чрезвычайно интересных людей. Уникальное единство места, здания, идеологии, личностей.

Революция, гражданская война, национализация, а в итоге и ликвидация Школы. Уничтоженные фонды, разорённый музей и два долгих десятилетия забвения. Великая Отечественная война, блокада Ленинграда, артилерийские обстрелы, и как ни парадоксально, возрождение Школы в этот самый момент. И всё это силами людей, а порой и ценой их жизней.

Большая часть книги основана на документах из личного архива И.А. Вакса — первого директора вновь воссозданной Школы. В данной книге впервые подробно рассказывается об истории возрождения школы барона Штиглица на новом историческом витке, возрождения из руин и в прямом и в переносном смысле этого слова. Книга — это сборник редчайших фотографий, документов, основой которого служат как материалы архивов так и воспоминания непосредственных участников интереснейших исторических событий».

Подробнее об издании можно прочитать на сайте книги. Там же можно и приобрести издание. Светлана Мирзоян и Сергей Хельмянов были гостями прямого эфира нашей телевизионной программы. Вы можете посмотреть запись этой передачи.

Авторы книги: Светлана Мирзоян, Сергей Хельмянов.
Над проектом работали: Митя Харшак, Ярослав Иванов, Данила Серов

Детали проекта

  • Заказчик

    Издатель: Артур Лазарян. 2010—2011 год

  • Что делали:

    • Дизайн
    • Верстка
    • Печать
spreads_01
spreads_02
spreads_03
spreads_04
spreads_05
spreads_06
spreads_08
spreads_14
spreads_07
spreads_15
spreads_16
spreads_12
spreads_10
spreads_09